Scottish Cycling North Dirt Crit Round 1

Scottish Cycling North Dirt Crit Round 1

Home » Mountain Bike (MTB)

On Saturday the 29th of August, the first round of this year’s Highland wide Dirt Crit series was held at Nevis Range. The event was organised by The West Highland Wheelers, in conjunction with Scottish Cycling and consisted of a number of age specific races held over some short and challenging loops close to the Nevis Range car park.

Despite some somewhat typical Fort William weather over 60 youngsters under the age of 16 braved the rain, wind and mud to take part in some great racing. There were some fiercely contested races and it was great to see so many youngsters demonstrating great skills and such positive attitudes in the testing conditions. It was also good to see several youngsters from the two local biking clubs ( West Highland Wheelers kids club and Spean Spedy Bikers) doing so well.

The West highland Wheelers would like to give a big thank you to Nevis Cycles for supplying very generous prizes, to Nevis Range for supplying the venue ( especially the warm and cozy cafe!) , to Scottish Cycling for helping to organise the event and to all the marshalls who helped out on the day and got extremely damp. The next round of the 5 venue series is at Abriachan on the 19th of September.  

Full results are as follows;

Under 6 Boys:

1ST Jack Bamber 3:03

2nd Cameron Johnston 3:26

3rd Micah Myles 4:57

4th Roanne Campbell 4:49

5TH Ossian Bellshaw 5:05

6th Finlay Fergusson 5:05

7th Sebastian Mocci 6:08.

Under 6 Girls:

Ist Carach Muir 3:37

2nd Holly Clemie 4:27

3rd Sarah Henshall 4:29

4th Fiona Austin 4:30

5th Kirsty Henshall 4:49

6th Olivia Poole 5:14.

Under 8 Boys:

1st Creag Muir 6:01

2nd Archie Fergusson 6:19

3rd Kyler Mcleod 6:51

4th Eoghain Sutherland 7:30

5th Alan Cameron 7:42

6th Archie Johnston 7:48

7th Ross Loughray 7:53

8th Andrew McMichael 7:58

9th Christopher Moccie 7:59

10th Neil McDougal 8:49

11th Dougal Masterson 9:53

12th Magnus Atkinson 9:55

13th Ruari Stirling 10.08

14th Freddie Chisholm 10:49

15th Sorley Swabie 11.42

16th Dougal Powell 11:58

17th Cohen Poole DNF.

Under 8 Girls:

Ist Ruth McDougall 13:20

Under 10 Boys:

1ST Ronnie Fulford 8:08

2nd Cory Muir 8:09

3rd Charlie Henshall 8:23

4th Charley Wright 8:37

5th Leo Mackintosh 8:38

6th Lewis Duncan 9:11

7th Owen Moran 9:41

8th Norbert Otreba 10.14

9th Cole Jackson 10.16

10th Josh Parton 10.17

11th Harvey Fishpool 10.29

12th Roo MacLellan 10:31

13th Victor Atkinson 11:21

14th Ruariidh MacLennan 11:48

15th Daniel Parfitt 12:40.

Under 10 Girls:

1st Aimi Kenyon 8:14

2nd Maisie McMulkin 10:05

3rd Mary Howell 11:23

4th Nina-Yven Cameron 12:09.

Under 12 Boys:

1st Charlie Ferguson 13:00

2nd Freddy Fulford 14:18

3rd Owen Pescod 16:14

4th Linus Wright 18:49

5th Joe Lennon 21:38.

Under 12 Girls:

1ST Lyra Swabey 19:14

2nd Rowan Masterson 21:20.

Under 14 Girls:

1st Alasdair Poll 19:54

2nd Struan Robertson 21:02

3rd Mark Fullerton 28.35.


Mountain Bike Events

Find Events Near Me:


Mountain Bike Rankings