TT: Ettles wins North of Scotland Champs


Location: Forres, Morayshire
Event: 2 June 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Peter Ettles (Sandy Wallace Cycles) won the North of Scotland 10-mile championships in Morayshire on Saturday, clocking 21:57 to win by just one second from his nearest rival.

Staged on the NS31 course at Forres, the event was run off in fine conditions but with a stiff north easterly wind making it tough going for the competitors on the outward leg.

Ettles, 48 and from the town of Forres, was the first of three veterans to dominate the podium, with second-placed Rab Carson (Leslie Bike Shop) taking second spot, the 47-year-old from Kinglassie being 27 seconds faster than 40-year-old third-placed rider Wim Chalmet (East Sutherland Wheelers).

Nevis Cycles’ Ben Millar was the fastest junior, his time of 23:33 giving him 11th place overall, while Moray Firth CC’s Penny Phillips clocked 24:41 and was best of the women.


1 Peter Ettles Sandy Wallace CC V 21:57

2 Rab Carson Leslie Bike Shop/Rightmove V 21:58

3 Wim Chalmet East Sutherland Wheelers V 22:25

4 Kenny Riddle Moray Firth CC V 22:38

5 Tom Broadbent Huddersfield Star Wheelers S 22:41

6 Alan McCaffrey Ross-shire RCC V 23:15

7 Callum Finlayson Forres CC S 23:21

8 David Harter Forres CC V 23:23

9 Gareth Luce Moray Cycle Racing Team S 23:23

10 Kevin Lackie Moray Cycle Racing Team V 23:33

11 Ben Millar Nevis Cycles RT JM 23:38

12 Paul Black Elgin CC V 23:43

13 Michael Henderson Moray Firth CC S 23:46

14 Kenny Philpot Moray Cycle Racing Team V 23:57

15 Brian Duncan Granite City RT S 24:27

16 Andy Duncan Ythan CC V 24:38

17 Kevan Sturgeon Moray Cycle Racing Team V 24:40

18 Penny Phillips Moray Firth CC F 24:41

19 Ian Grant Deeside Thistle CC V 24:44

20 Brian Christie Leslie Bike Shop/Rightmove V 24:51

21 Mike Reaper Forres CC V 25:09

22 Laura Nicolson Moray Firth CC F 25:19

23 Roger Sewell Ross-shire RCC V 25:20

24 Kevin Hardman Elgin CC V 25:33

25 Stephen Brown Granite City RT YM 25:36

26 Mark Murray Moray Firth CC S 25:37

27 Eric Davidson Moray Firth CC S 25:57

28 George Findlater Moray Cycle Racing Team V 26:02

29 Douglas Cowie Forres CC V 26:06

30 Julie Irskine Aberdeen Wheelers F 26:08

31 Andrew Brown Granite City RT YM 26:14

32 Graeme Deas Cuillin Wheels S 26:26

33 Thomas Deas Cuillin Wheels YM 26:43

34 Alasdair Washington Caithness CC V 26:53

35 George Grant Forres CC V 27:45

36 Sandy Fraser Forres CC V 27:58

37 Jenni Nicholson Sandy Wallace CC FV 28:00

38 Kieran Robbins East Sutherland Wheelers YM 28:01

39 Danny Hedley Discovery Junior CC YM 28:11

40 Roy Slingsby Moray Firth CC V 28:22

41 Katrina Moir Ross-shire RCC FV 28:33

42 Robert Brady Forres CC V 28:37

43 Morag Eagleson Ross-shire RCC F 29:02

44 Jake Carpenter Forres CC YM 29:36

45 Gordon McGillivray Forres CC V 29:53

46 Emma Finlayson Forres CC YF 30:34

47 Alana Ross Forres CC F 30:45

48 Walter Baird Forres CC V 30:50

49 Calum Allmond Forres CC JM 31:01

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.