Joseph Smith (Chain Reaction Cycles) and Rachel Atherton (GT Factory Racing) were the elite winners at round four of the British MTB Downhill Series was held at Rhyd-y-Felin in Wales on Sunday.

Fresh from her win in the World Cup in Austria, Rachel Atherton (pictured) blitzed her way to a comfortable victory by more than 13 seconds from her nearest rival, World champion Manon Carpenter (Madison Saracen Factory Racing), while Tahnee Seagrave (FMD Racing) completed the podium in third, a further two seconds back.

For Atherton, it was a return to British Series victory after she had won the first two rounds, but missed out of the top step of the podium in round three. However, two consecutive World Cup wins made her the rider to beat heading into round four at Rhyd-y-Felin.

And Joe Smith – who won round three at Llangollen in Wales - was fastest in the Schwalbe Elite Men’s category, winning by 2.57sec from World champion Gee Atherton (GT Factory Racing), while Michael Jones (Chain Reaction Cycles) was third, 4.971 seconds slower than his victorious team-mate.

The series continues with the round five at Moelfre in Wales on July 11-12 2015.


Elite men
1 Joseph Smith (Chain Reaction Cycles) 3:24.420
2 Gee Atherton (GT Factory Racing) at 2.57sec
3 Michael Jones (Chain Reaction Cycles) at 4.971sec
4 Reece Wilson (Unior Tools Team) at 5.008sec
5 Matthew Simmonds (Madison Saracen Factory Team) at 5.865sec
6 Taylor Vernon (GT Factory Racing) at 8.923sec

Elite women
1 Rachel Atherton (GT Factory Racing) 4:05.067
2 Manon Carpenter (Madison Saracen Factory Racing) at 13.485sec
3 Tahnee Seagrave (FMD Racing) at 15.606

Full results available for download