British Olympic Association announce Team GB cycling squad for London 2012 Olympic Games


Selections for Great Britain’s Olympic cycling team for London 2012 have been confirmed by the British Olympic Association, with 18 athletes officially named to represent Team GB.

London 2012: GB Cycling Team Announcement from British Cycling on Vimeo.

Selections include Beijing Olympic triple gold medallist Sir Chris Hoy, road race World Champion Mark Cavendish and Olympic road race champion Nicole Cooke.

The mountain bike team will consist of Liam Killeen and Annie Last. Representing Great Britain in BMX are Liam Phillips and Shanaze Reade.

Road race teams will be narrowed to the final five men and four women to represent Team GB on July 28-29 in due course. Selections for individual track events will also be determined from the named athletes.


Team GB - Cycling - 2012 Olympic Games, London

Track Sprint:
Philip Hindes
Chris Hoy
Jason Kenny
Victoria Pendleton
Jessica Varnish

Track Endurance:
Steven Burke
Edward Clancy
Wendy Houvenaghel
Peter Kennaugh
Danielle King
Joanna Rowsell
Andrew Tennant
Geraint Thomas
Laura Trott

Liam Phillips
Shanaze Reade

Cross Country Mountain Biking:
Liam Killeen
Annie Last

Men’s Road (five to ride)
Mark Cavendish
Steve Cummings
Chris Froome
Jeremy Hunt
David Millar
Ian Stannard
Ben Swift
Bradley Wiggins

Women’s Road (four to ride)
Lizzie Armitstead
Nicole Cooke
Katie Colclough
Sharon Laws
Lucy Martin
Emma Pooley