Strong field of Scottish riders named for Glasgow 2018 European Championships

Strong field of Scottish riders named for Glasgow 2018 European Championships


British Cycling has today announced the line up of riders who will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team in all the cycling disciplines at the Glasgow 2018 European Championships, which take place from the 2nd – 12th August. Within this team of Olympians and Commonwealth Games athletes are a strong group of Scottish riders who will be keen to experience the same home crowds who brought the Glasgow Commonwealth Games to life in 2014.


The Glasgow 2018 European Championships marks the beginning of the Olympic qualifying period for track cycling at the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games and a strong squad has been selected accordingly.

Defending European champion Katie Archibald will be keen to retain her title in front of a home crowd, while Commonwealth Games bronze medalist Neah Evans looks set to continue her brilliant season following a win at the Women’s CiCLE Classic. Having won a silver medal at the Gold Coast, Jack Carlin promises to dominate in the sprint.

Local star and brother of Katie, John Archibald has been selected to represent Great Britain on the track. John won silver for Team Scotland at the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games earlier this year and continues to produce brilliant results.

Mountain Bike

Five times British Mountain Bike Championships gold medallist Grant Ferguson, who has represented Team Scotland in two Commonwealth Games, will ride in the elite men’s category at Cathkin Braes Mountain Bike Trails on 7th August.

Ferguson said: “It’s such a great opportunity to be able to race in Glasgow in front of a home crowd. The standard of the competition is going to be amazing and I hope everyone will come out and support all the riders, as they take on the challenge of the exciting new features on the course.”


Six BMXers will represent the Great Britain Cycling Team in the BMX Supercross event, which takes place from 10th – 11th August at the brand new Glasgow BMX Centre at Knightswood.

Road and Time Trial:

A longlist of 31 riders has been named for the men’s and women’s road race and time trial events for Glasgow 2018. Among them is Scot Andy Fenn. The final selection due to take place later this month.

Great Britain Cycling Team for Glasgow 2018 European Championships

Men’s BMX:

Kyle Evans (24, Wigan)

Quillan Isidore (21, Peckham)

Curtis Manaton (24, Burnham-on-Sea)

Paddy Sharrock (19, Wigan)

Kye Whyte (18, Peckham)

Women’s BMX:

Beth Shriever (19, Braintree)

Men’s Cross-Country Mountain Bike:

Grant Ferguson (24, Peebles)

Women’s Cross-Country Mountain Bike:

Annie Last (27, Sheffield)

Men’s Track Endurance:

John Archibald (27, Milngavie)

Steven Burke (30, Colne)

Ed Clancy (33, Barnsley)

Kian Emadi (25, Stoke-on-Trent)

Ethan Hayter (19, London)

Charlie Tanfield (21, North Yorkshire)

Matthew Walls (20, Oldham)

Ollie Wood (22, Wakefield)

Women’s Track Endurance:         

Katie Archibald (24, Milngavie)

Elinor Barker (23, Cardiff)

Ellie Dickinson (20, Carlisle)

Neah Evans (27, Langbank)

Emily Kay (22, Bromsgrove)

Laura Kenny (26, Cheshunt)

Men’s Track Sprint:

Jack Carlin (21, Paisley)

Philip Hindes (25, Krefeld, Germany)

Jason Kenny (30, Bolton)

Ryan Owens (22, Milton Keynes)

Joe Truman (21, Portsmouth)

Women’s Track Sprint:

Lauren Bate (18, St Helens)

Sophie Capewell (19, Lichfield)

Katy Marchant (25, Leeds)

Men’s Road (eight for road race, two for time trial):

Ian Bibby

Adam Blythe

Mark Cavendish

Mark Christian

Scott Davies

Jon Dibben

Owain Doull

Alex Dowsett

Andy Fenn

James Knox

Chris Lawless

Dan McLay

Luke Rowe

Ian Stannard

Ben Swift

Harry Tanfield

Geraint Thomas

Scott Thwaites

Women’s Road (eight for road race, two for time trial):

Elizabeth Banks

Alice Barnes

Anna Christian

Dani Christmas

Natalie Grinczer

Anna Henderson

Lizzie Holden

Nikki Juniper

Mel Lowther

Abi Mae Parkinson

Dani Rowe

Hayley Simmonds

Sophie Wright

Tickets available for the Glasgow 2018 European Games here