2017 Scottish National BAR Championships

2017 Scottish National BAR Championships


Following a year hampered with road works, breakdowns and inclement weather, we have finally approached the time when we collate the Best All Rounders for the season.  Unfortunately, the aforementioned afflictions left Scottish Cycling with no Senior Men’s Championship BAR, this is because the only 100 mile time trial event scheduled for Scotland this year was cancelled.  Despite this, results for a short distance, non-Championship, BAR have been included below.

Despite the disappointment of cancelled events, the rest of the season was fantastic and we had a number of time trial records broken!  In total, four records were superseded during the 2017 season; a notable performance being John Archibald’s 25 mile record breaking result, beating Graeme Obree’s 1994 record by 1 minute 14 seconds.

The BAR Championship tables are collated throughout the season and each rider’s fastest time over each fixed distance, within their category, is noted. The rider with the fastest miles per hour (mph) across their best 2017 performances is declared the winner. Without a doubt, this is a real test of long term training, extreme discipline and unfaltering endurance.

Let’s begin with the Women’s BAR Championship result.  2017 saw a successful defence of the Championship title, improving her average speed from 24.866mph last year to 25.629mph this year!  2017 gold medallist, Catriona MacGillivray (nee Gunn) rode for Sandy Wallace Cycles in 2016 and this season made the move to RT 23, along with a number of successful time trial athletes, keeping consistent success in her favourite discipline.  Closely nipping at Catriona’s heels, or back wheel, was once again Toni McIntosh (Ayr Roads Cycling Club) with 24.575mph.  Taking the bronze medal was Christine McLean (Shetland Wheelers) with 23.886mph.  Christine just missed out on the medals in 2016, so this season’s hard work has certainly been rewarded!

Georgia Mansfield (RT 23) has also picked up her second consecutive Junior BAR Championship title and her third Scottish National Championship title of the season with an average speed of 23.551mph.  Ross Thompson (Dunfermline CC) just piped Alasdair Munro (RT 23) at the post for the Junior Men’s BAR title with a  speed of 27.122mph compared to Alasdair’s 27.027mph; very impressive performances from both riders.

First place in the Youth Boy’s BAR Championship was RT 23 rider, Kyle Cartmell who averaged a speed of 26.269mph across the distances of 10 and 25 miles. He was very closely followed by Jed Scott (Moray Firth Cycling Club) with an average of 26.012mph.

Unfortunately, there were no contenders for the Youth Girl’s BAR or any of the team Championship categories, with clubs only being represented by individual riders.  Hopefully this will change in 2018!

Despite the disappointing cancellation of the Scottish National 100 Mile Time Trial Championship, we have included a non-championship, shortened, BAR for the men.  Topping the table for the distances of 10, 25 and 50 miles was Kyle Gordon from RT 23, with a speed of 29.128mph.  Douglas Watson (Icarus Racing) came in second place with 28.817mph, followed by Kenneth Armstrong (Carrick Cycle Club) with 28.390mph.

As the season has come to a close, Scottish Cycling is working with Event Organisers to prepare the 2018 calendar; keep an eye on this page for 2018 Scottish National Time Trial Championship announcements.  The Best All Rounder Championship medals will be presented during Scottish Cycling’s Roll of Honour event, taking place on XX February 2018, at Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh. 

2017 Scottish National BAR Championship tables & Non-Championship mixed results.