Tour of the Glens to determine Alba Series winner of 2017

Tour of the Glens to determine Alba Series winner of 2017


This weekend (23rd July) the Alba Series is back with the penultimate round, Tour of the Glens, hosted by Dundee Thistle.

The event, which is its 3rd year takes place from Kilry in Blairgowrie – a challenging course of 79 miles in the Angus and Perthshire glens. Starting and finishing near Lintrathen reservoir and covering the Glen Isla and Mount Blair area.

The course opens with 5 laps of a small circuit covering the opening miles around Lintrathen reservoir and then moving North over the main climb over Kilry moors to then cover two laps of a larger circuit around Mount Blair before returning to finish on Backwater Reservoir dam wall.

You can see a map of the course here.

With 60 riders taking to the start line, it is going to be a fight for the finish with all three current series leaders riding for some final points; Robert Friel, Pro Vision Scotland, John Archibald, Pro Vision Scotland and Scott McCrossan, East Kilbride Road Club. Last years’ winner Phil Trodden, The Racers, will also be amongst the starts – hoping to continue his reign on the course.

Come along and cheer the riders on and see who will be crowned the overall Alba Series winner for 2017.

If you want to find out more about our National Series’ then please visit our website here.