Scottish Mini Downhill Series: Round 2

Scottish Mini Downhill Series: Round 2


Round 2 of the Scottish Mini Downhill Series took place on Saturday the 22nd of April at the Nevis Range, with West Highland Wheelers taking on the running of the event.

There was a strong field of 65 riders taking on the Nevis Range, with a fun and exciting course to challenge and thrill the riders.

After a hard day of racing, the top two riders in each category (who hadn’t already qualified) qualified for the Mini DH finals at the Fort William MTB World Cup on the 3rd of June. There were also two wildcard places awarded to riders who showed particular spirit and determination.

The riders who qualified from the Nevis Range are:

Category Qualifying Position Name Club
U10 Boys 2 Kyler Macleod West Highland Wheelers
U10 Girls 2 Jessica Wipat  
U12 Girls 2 Ruby Thornley Cranked CC
U12 Boys 1 Cory Muir  
U14 Boys 1 Rohan Watson  
U14 Girls 1 Charlotte Gilmore  
U16 Boys 1 Alasdair Poll West Highland Wheelers
U16 Girls 1 Karra Laing Moray MTB Club
U10 Boys 3 Archie Ferguson West Highland Wheelers
U10 Girls 4 Ruth MacDougall Moray MTB Club
U12 Girls 4 Nina Cameron  
U12 Boys 3 Daniel Parfitt West Highland Wheelers
U14 Boys 3 Jamie Mackenzie Meedies Bike Club
U14 Girls 2 Erin Wood  
U16 Boys 2 Dougal Spenceley Falcons CC
U16 Boys Wildcard Aiden Mcmahon  
U14 Boys Wildcard Hamish Mackay  
U14 Boys Wildcard Rory Spenceley  

The current list of riders who have earnt a coveted spot at the Fort William World Cup mini DH finals can be found here.

Round 3 of the Mini DH series will take place this weekend (30th April), with the Borders MTB Series taking on the trails at Dunkeld.

Another full quota of riders will qualify for the finals, with the top two riders from each category earning a coveted start at the finals. If a rider who has already qualified finishes in the top 2 at a subsequent round, the qualification place will be passed down to the next eligible rider.

If you want to find out more about the Scottish Mini Downhill Series then please click here.