Five Scots selected for UCI Track Cycling World Championships

Five Scots selected for UCI Track Cycling World Championships


Scotland's Katie Archibald, Neah Evans, Mark Stewart, Jack Carlin and Callum Skinner have all been selected to compete as part of the Great Britain Cycling Team at the UCI Track Cycling World Championships presented by Tissot which take place from 12 – 16 April in Hong Kong.

British Cycling has today confirmed the squad of twenty riders which also includes Olympians Elinor Barker and Steven Burke.

Ten riders are making their world championship debut.

Head coach Iain Dyer said:

“The team is made up of a good mix of experienced and developing riders across all the disciplines. Throughout the earlier world cups and at the UEC European Track Championships last year, there was a good opportunity to bring some new riders into the front line. They gave a really good account of themselves and that’s reflected in the selections we’ve made today. I’m looking forward to seeing them step up into world championship level competition.

“I’m pleased to see non-programme riders Neah Evans and Lewis Oliva in Great Britain colours and their selection is testament not only to their hard work but to the support we receive from Scottish and Welsh Cycling respectively.

“It’s also great to have some of our Olympians in the squad. This year’s worlds will allow them to race different events which were not possible in previous years due to the focus on the Olympic events. This is particularly true for the endurance riders who can broaden their experience in the new format omnium plus the madison, which both have the potential to feature in the Tokyo 2020 track cycling programme. It’s a great experience for our younger riders to make their debut performances alongside such established athletes and I’m sure they will learn a lot from this opportunity.”

Great Britain Cycling Team:

Women’s Endurance

Katie Archibald

Elinor Barker

Ellie Dickinson

Neah Evans

Emily Kay

Manon Lloyd

Emily Nelson

Men’s Endurance

Matt Bostock

Steven Burke

Kian Emadi

Chris Latham

Mark Stewart

Andy Tennant

Oliver Wood


Jack Carlin

Katy Marchant

Lewis Oliva

Ryan Owens

Callum Skinner

Joe Truman

For more information about how to get into cycling visit