Scottish Cycling Alba Series Round 4: Le Tour De Glens Report

Scottish Cycling Alba Series Round 4: Le Tour De Glens Report


At the weekend the Scottish Cycling Alba Series headed to Kilry for round 4, Le Tour De Glens, with 45 riders taking to the start line unaware of the tough conditions ahead.

The challenging 127km route started initially in dry conditions but this soon became steady drizzle, and then turned into some pretty heavy rain.

There were several breaks and splits in the opening laps, with eventually groups becoming separated following the main climb of the day over Kilry Moors.

A break of four riders established a gap of 30 seconds on a chasing group of around 12 riders. This gap held over the climb up to Drumore Loch on the first lap of Mount Blair, but eventually by the finish a group of 7 contested the finishing sprint on Backwater Dam wall in heavy rain.

The top three places were taken by Phil Trodden The Racers, Steven Lawley Metaltek Kuota Racing Team and Evan Oliphant  Raleigh GAC. This group was closely followed by five others a few seconds adrift.

On tough day in poor weather conditions only 28 made it to the finish.

Full results here:

Place Name   Club/Team Time
1 Philip Trodden The Racers 3:31:37
2 Steven Lawley Metaltek Kuota Racing Team st
3 Evan Oliphant Raleigh GAC st
4 Bradley Stokes Planet X - Northside Cycling st
5 Joshua Jones Unattached st
6 Harry Johnston Pro Vision Cycle Clothing st
7 Chris  Sleath Adept Precision RT/NE Healthcare st
8 Tim Blathwayt Veloclub Edinburgh +6
9 Sean Noon Spokes Racing Team st
10 Scott McCrossan East Kilbride Road Club st
11 Wilson Renwick Parentini Test Team +8
12 Walter Hamilton Veloclub Edinburgh st
13 David   Lines Wheelbase Altura +20
14 Jason Roberts Pro Vision Cycle Clothing +37
15 Robert Friel Pro Vision Cycle Clothing +2'35
16 Will Corden Mammoth Lifestyle Racing Team +2'42
17 Richard McDonald Pro Vision Cycle Clothing +4'26
18 Andrew Bruce Kinross CC st
19 Lewis Oliphant Veloclub Edinburgh +4'28
20 Greig Brown Pro Vision Cycle Clothing +4'33
21 Joe Williams Prologue Racing Team st
22 Neil Scott Deeside Thistle CC +4'39
23 Ryan Fenwick Unattached +4'46
24 Scott Wardlaw Veloclub Edinburgh +5'17
25 Hamish Carrick Berwick Wheelers CC +8'37
26 Ross Mallen Royal Air Force CA +10'16
27 Malcolm Bain Granite City RT st
28 Keith Greenwood Pedal Power RT +16'09