British Cycling Awards: The Scots

British Cycling Awards: The Scots


It was a successful night for the Scots at the British Cycling Awards dinner last weekend – with champion titles being taken across most of the disciplines from riders as young as 13 to those in the veteran categories.

First off Jamie Edmondson from the Wolfpax Riders was awarded for his 13-14 Boys Downhill National Series Champion title.

Alfred George, Discovery Junior CC, won the Stan Kite Trophy as the Under 14s Boys Road & Circuit Race National Series Champion.

Logan Dow was crowned the Inter-Regional Youth Cross Country Mountain Bike Champion when competing for Scotland South.

Rhona Callander, Jenny Holl, Amber King, Gemma Penman, Danny Mulholland and Lewis Stewart won the IRTC Trophy as the Inter-Regional Youth Track Champions for Scotland.

Jenny Holl, Stirling Bike Club, also received the Girls Terry Cronin Trophy and the Girls Scratch Race Trophy as the Under 16 Girls Circuit Race National Champion and the Under 16 Girls Scratch Race National Champion respectively.

Sandy Wallace Cycles did well, with Jenni Nicholson taking the Over 60s Women Pursuit National Champion title and Gwynneth Rixon was awarded as the Over 60s Women 500m TT National Champion.

Ian Humphreys, another from Sandy Wallace Cycles, along with Steve Davies was awarded for their 2nd in the 55-64 Men Team Pursuit World Championships. He is also 60-64 Men Pursuit National Champion and 60-64 Men Pursuit World Champion.

Sandy Wallace Cycles Peter Ettles, was also awarded as 50-54 Men Scratch Race National Champion and for his 3rd in the 50-54 MeNS Points Race World Championships. A good number for the Fife Club!

And that wasn’t all, Lee Lawrence, Edinburgh Cycle Speedway Club, received the CS Trophy as the Over 50s Cycle Speedway National Champion.

Louise Haston took not one but six awards away, cycling for TORQ Performance. She is 35-39 Women’s Sprint National Champion, 3rd in 35-39 Women Sprint World Championships, 3rd in 35-39 Women 500m Track Time Trial World Championships, 3rd in 35-39 Women Points Race World Championships, 2nd 35-39 Women Pursuit World Championships and is also the 35-39 Women Scratch Race World Champion.

Rona Strivens, Cairngorm CC/Highlands Bikes RT, was awarded for her Junior Women Downhill National Series Champion title.

Last but in no means least, Iain Paton, 100% ME, took the Pro Velo Sports Trophy for his Under 23 Men Mountain Bike Cross-Country National Champion title and was also crowned 2015-2016 Under 23 Men Cyclo Cross National Champion.

Scottish Cycling want to say a huge well done to everyone for their achievements over the past year!