National Track Championships 2015: Scotland Success

National Track Championships 2015: Scotland Success


The National Track Championships took place between 25-27th September in Manchester – and Scotland has a lot to talk about.

Mark Stewart topped the weekend off from Scotland in the last race of the competition, taking home gold and becoming British Scratch Race Champion.

The Dundonian originally rode for the Discovery Junior Cycling Club and is currently part of 100%ME cycling team. He also took silver in the men’s points race at the weekend, so a successful weekend for him.

The weekend also saw Milngavie’s Katie Archibald take home silver in the Women’s Points Race, just shy of Laura Trott who took first place. A close race between the two teams mates who will go back to training together alongside Joanna Rowsell, Elinor Barker and Ciara Horne for Rio focusing on the women’s team pursuit.

Katie also took home silver in the individual pursuit, losing her title of British Champion to Laura Trott; she did however qualify with the fastest time.

Scotland Juniors Andy Brown, Tom Chandler, Angus Claxton and Lewis Mulholland took home a bronze in the open team pursuit.

However, not forgetting the Scotland Development team, Fraser Martin, Ruari Yeoman, Peter Anderson, Philip Trodden and Tom Arnstein took silver – missing out on the gold to 100%ME team – which included Mark Stewart.

Scot Eleanor Richardson also made it to the podium, taking bronze in the women’s 500 TT and Paisley’s Jonathan Mitchell made it to the final of the men’s keirin and also took home bronze.

It doesn't finish there for the Scots, Neil Fachie won 2 silver medals in the 1 Km TT and 200m Sprint - adding to a cabinet of never ending success for the para-cyclist who also competed in the Commonwealth Games last year, winning gold.  Laura Cluxton also won a bronze in the 1km TT with pilot Lyndsey Carson.

A fantastic weekend for Scotland in cycling this weekend – topping off a summer of success.

Full results and more pictures from the National Track Championships here.