Ayrshire and Dumfriesshire Road Race Championships

Ayrshire and Dumfriesshire Road Race Championships


This Saturday sees a full field of riders take to the roads around Dunlop for the Ayrshire and Dumfriesshire Road Race Championships promoted by Dunlop CC/Fastrider Cycles.

Likely contenders for the race win include Jordan Doig (Pedal Power RT), Gavin Alexander (Team Novo Nordisk), Greg Brown (Team Thomson’s Cycles) and Gavin Shirley ().     Junior riders, Calum Johnston and Kyle Johnstone (both East Kilbride RC) are both capable of being up with the leaders.

There are 2 female riders competing:  Lyndesy Carson (Team Thomson’s Cycles)  and Ellen McDermott  (Team WattCycle).

There are 18 riders contesting  the A&DCA title.  Ayr Roads CC have a strong team including Kenneth Armstrong, Michael Curran and Michael Robb.  The Loudoun RC team is headed up by Marc Anderson, Tony Scott and Craig Gilmour.  Classic Racing Team has 2 strong riders: Chris Stewart and Ricky Lockhart.  Cyclocross specialist, John-Paul Baxter will be riding for Ayr Burners Cycling.  Ian Anderson is the sole entry from Walkers Cycling Club.  Wallecehill CC is represented by Drew Clark and Chris Ross will be riding for Dumfries CC.