2014 Best All Rounder results

2014 Best All Rounder results


2014 has been a fantastic year for sport in Scotland with hundreds of fantastic events taking place throughout the country including the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.  

As like any other year we have been recording the time trial Best All Rounder (BAR) results.  This competition runs throughout the year and records Time Trial riders fastest times over various fixed distances depending on category of rider, then the rider with the fastest miles per hour (mph) is declared the winner.

In the Middle distance BAR Iain Grant (www.Dooleys-Cycles.co.uk) took the top stop with an average speed of 27.733 just ahead of Callum Finlayson (Moray Firth CC) with 26.647, closely followed by James Cusick (www.Dooleys-Cycles.co.uk) with a speed of 26.557.

Iain Grant continued his winning streak, with www.Dooleys-Cycles.co.uk Team mates James Cusick and Thomas Gordon, by winning the Men’s Middle distance Team BAR with an average speed of 26.899 over 3 seconds ahead of  the Deeside Thistle Team, Greg Quinn, Malcolm Young and Stewart Mitchell, who took second place.

This year Iain Grant also won the Individual time trial titles in the 10 & 25 mile Championships.  

Lynsey Curran (www.Dooleys-Cycles.co.uk) won the 2014 Women’s BAR title with an average speed of 25.571 which added to her Olympic time trial and Hill Climb Championship titles, which she claimed earlier in the year.  Just behind Curran in the BAR with a speed of 24.959 was Toni McIntosh (Ayr Roads Cycling Club) followed by Ayr Roads Cycling team mate Lynne Wardrop with a speed of 24.294.

The Ayr Road’s ladies, Toni McIntosh and Lynne Wardrop, then came together to take the top spot in the Women’s Team BAR with an average speed of 24.627.

There were some impressive performances in the Junior Men’s competition with Andy Brown (Glasgow Cycle Team) taking the title with an average speed of 27.970 followed by Sean Noon (Team ASL360) with 27.193 and Thomas Deas (Moray Firth CC) in third with an average of 25.279.

Andy Brown alongside Glasgow Cycle Team teammate Fraser Knox also took the Team BAR Gold with a speed of 26.151.

First place in the Youth Boy’s BAR competition went to Stuart Turvey (Sandy Wallace Cycles) with an average speed of 25.132 followed by Jake Carpenter (Forres CC) with 22.462.

An average speed of 21.330 secured Georgina Mansfield (Forres CC) the top spot in the Youth Girl’s BAR.

Scottish Cycling would like to thank all of the organisers, volunteers and officials that help us putting on very successful events throughout 2014.  We would also like to thank all of the riders that took part. Special thanks must go to John Macmillan for collating and producing the BAR results for 2014.

Again congratulations to all of our medal winners, good luck in 2015.

Click here to download the full results table