Scottish Cycling National Track Championships - Report


Bookmark    and Share  Follow onFollow       Scottish Cycling on Facebook Follow Scottish       Cycling on TwitterVisit our       Youtube ChannelVisit our       images on Flickr

Posted 20 October 2014

Scottish Cycling National Track Championships

17-19 October 2014

Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome

The hotly anticipated Scottish Cycling National Track Championships got underway on Friday with a crowd of almost 700 cycling fans treated to an exciting weekend of track racing. With many of the stars of Team Scotland in action, and discounted tickets sales on Groupon, spectators had the opportunity to see some of Scotland's best riders in action.

Junior Men

The first medals of the evening were decided in the Junior men’s 1 Kilometre Time Trial. Fraser Martin (Spokes RT) averaged a speed of 52kmph to take the National title ahead of Andy Brown (Glasgow Cycle Team) and Ruari Yeoman (East Kilbride Road Club), with a mere 0.03sec separating those two young men.

The same trio were again on the podium to receive their medals for the Junior men 3k Pursuit, albeit in different positions. In the gold medal ride, Andy Brown triumphed over Ruari Yeoman, while Fraser Martin made the catch with a second remaining of the race to take bronze.

In a final reshuffle of the podium spots, the Scottish National title for the Junior men’s 25K points race was claimed by Ruari Yeoman, with just 3 points advantage over Fraser Martin in second. Andy Brown was in bronze, with these three juniors each having received the full set of Scottish medals in this meet.

After two riveting and tactical Keirin heats, the Junior men lined up for the final behind the derny. Grant Martin (Spokes RT) took the sprint victory, with his team mate Ben Forsyth joining him on the podium in bronze medal position. Rhys Donnelly (Edinburgh RC) was the silver medallist.

In the junior men’s sprint, the young riders showed their tactical knowledge and sprint skills in close fought and tense battles. Jack Carlin (Spokes RT) rode strongly throughout to claim the national title seeing off Lewis Stewart (Glasgow Riderz) who took silver. In the bronze medal ride, Ben Forsyth (Spokes RT) overcame a first heat defeat to round off the podium.

Junior Women

The Junior women’s 500m Time Trial was won by Rebecca Dornan of the Rigmar Racers in a time of 38.856, making her the new National Champion.

Rhona Callander continued her strong season with a gold medal in the junior women 2000m Individual Pursuit, averaging 44.7kmph on her 2:40.927 ride. Rosa Martin (Ribble Valley Juniors) got the silver medal with Lulu Bartlett (Rigmar Racers) making the catch in the bronze medal ride.

Senior Women

The women's 3000m Individual Pursuit was won by Anna Turvey (Pearly Izumi Sports Tours) who caught Claire Hamilton (Paisley Velo) in 2:32.05 to take the national title. In the bronze medal ride, Louise Haston (City of Edinburgh RC) beat Lynsey Curren (Dooley Cycles) for the last of the medal positions.

In a dramatic 25K points race, the women battled hard each sprint, with Team Scotland athlete Charline Joiner (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours) coming out comfortable winner ahead of Neah Evans (Glasgow Rapide) and Anna Turvey (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours).

It was a second national title of the competition for Charline Joiner in the women’s Keirin as she saw off stiff competition from Team Scotland pilot Louise Haston (City of Edinburgh RC), with Flora Gillies (Speg – Project 51) receiving the bronze medal.

Charline was again on the podium, this time receiving a silver medal in the Women’s sprint, as fellow Team Scotland rider, Ellie Richardson, took gold. The bronze medal for the women’s sprint went to Emma Baird (Glasgow Green CC).

Ellie Richardson (Edinburgh RC) claimed her second gold of the competition in the women’s 500m TT as she rode a blistering 500m to finish almost a second faster than her nearest rival. Her teammate Alison Chisholm was in the silver medal position with Emma Baird (Glasgow Green CC) in third.

Ellie was back on the top of the podium, this time joined by Alison Chisholm as Edinburgh RC won the women’s team sprint event by over two seconds from the Glasgow Rapide team of Neah Evans and Jessica Lee.

Open Men

In the Open Sprint, John Paul (City of Edinburgh RC) beat Chris Pritchard (Team USN) without the need for the third heat to take the 2014 Scottish title. Jonathan Mitchell (Glasgow Rapide) overcame a first heat deficit to finish third ahead of his team mate Jonathan Biggin.

This podium was repeated as the same three riders matched their feats in the open keirin event in a final which was packed with extremely high quality riders.

It was a clean sweep for the Rigmar Racers in the Open 30K points race, as all three podium spots were filled with their riders. Team Scotland athlete Alastair Rutherford used his consistency to his advantage, taking points in all but one sprint, and winning the final sprint to become the National Champion. Philip Trodden was the silver medallist ahead of Peter Anderson, who had won the first three sprints.

The Rigmar Racers again displayed their strength in the Open 4000m Individual Pursuit as Philip Trodden Anderson caught his team mate Peter Anderson in 3:49.44 to take the Scottish national title. The bronze medal ride was won by just over half a second by Arthur Doyle (Dooleys Cycles) from Finlay Young (Rigmar Racers).

In the Open 1000m Time Trial, Team Scotland athlete Bruce Croall (City of Edinburgh RC) was victorious, claiming the gold medal and the Championships title. Kenny Ayre (Rigmar Racers) finished in silver medal position with Christopher Barr (Glasgow Rapide) in bronze.

The Open Team Sprint was dominated by Glasgow Rapide Track Team with their teams taking both gold and silver medals. The Glasgow Rapide B squad of Jonathan Biggin, Andrew Louis and Jonathan Mitchell finished first, beating their team mates Jamie Alexander, Christopher Barr and Colin Davenport. City of Edinburgh RC – Bruce Croall, David Daniell and Ivor Reid, were the bronze medallists.