2013 Time Trial Round up & BAR Results


Published: 04 December 2013

Best All Rounder (BAR) results table

The highlight of the year for Time Trialling in Scotland has to be the successful hosting of the British Time Trial Championship in Stewarton.  To have riders such as ~Alex Dowsett and  Joanne Rowsell battle it out in Scotland with our own Time Trial Champions such as Jay Burgess, Iain Grant and Ben Peacock was fantastic and one that made me proud of our strong time trial scene. 

Full results can be found by clicking here.

Our own Time Trial year started off with the Olympic Time Trial which moved from it’s traditional end of year spot to the 14th April and was hosted by Edinburgh Road Club.  The Tour of the Meldons has long been considered one of the classic time trials in Scotland and includes the climbs of Shiplaw and the Meldons.    Alan Thomson, Sandy Wallace Cycles and Jenny Taylor, Equipe Velo Ecossee/Montpeliers were the winners on the day.

The next championship was the 10 mile Time Trial hosted by Fife Century in May. With only

13 seconds separating the top 3 men it was a

very close race with Ben Peacock, Paisley Velo

RT taking the Gold medal with a time of 20:14.    The womens title was taken by Jay Burgess, Sandy Wallace Cycles with a time of 22:46.

The next championship was the 25 in Aberdeen

and this time Iain Grant managed to reverse the

10 results and take the gold with a time of 50:47.  Jay Burgess continued to be the fastest women in Scotland taking Gold with a time of  58:09.

North of Scotland once again hosted the 100 mile championships – with Iain and Jay continuing the dominate the top place in the podium with times of 3:54.05 and 4:27:48.

www.Dooleys-Cycles.co.uk cycling team dominated the mens team competitions by taking the team Gold in the 25, 50 and 100 although Sandy Wallace cycles did take the 10 team Gold and the Olympic Team Gold.

In the Womens team competition Jay Burgess led the Sandy Wallace cycles team  with the 10, 25, 100 team Gold with Ayr Roads interrupting a clean sweep by taking the 50 title.

Ayr Roads hosted the Team Time Trial Championships later in the year.  Paisley Velo Race Team, Sandy Wallace Cycles and www.dooleys-cycles.co.uk have a good old battle out on the course swapping the lead many times with eventual winners being Paisley Velo RT with a time of 55:28.  Sandy Wallace Cycles womens team took the gold spot in the womens championship race although beaten on the day by a composite team from Ayr Roads and Wallacehill CC.  

Full results can be found by clicking here.

The final time trial competition of the year was the hill climb with Arthur Doyle, who has been noticeable missing from the home podiums but can be excused after taking Gold at the UCI World Masters Pursuit (40-44 age category).    Womens National Road Race Champion, Jenny Taylor Equipe Ecosse, Montpelier  took the Womens gold medal.

The Youth Time Trial competition was once again hosted by Discovery Juniors on a circuit around Monikie Country Park. Mark McGuire, Perth United and Emma Borthwick, Edinburgh RC took the gold in the Youth A category with Joseph Nally and Eleanor Strathdee taking the Youth B gold medals.

Full report can be found here

Throughout the year the time trial BAR competition runs (Best All Rounder).

We have the Senior BAR which is the rider’s fastest time over 50, 100 miles and distance over 12 hours.  Only one rider in Scotland, Graham Jones competed in a 12 hour race south of the border and therefore takes the Gold in this competition with strong rides throughout.

There is also the Middle Distance BAR over, 25, 50 and 100 miles and no surprise this year that the reigning 25, 50 and 100 mile champion – Iain Grant takes this title with a storming time of 27.749 mph.  Leading his team www.dooleys-cycles.co.uk to top team place with clubmates, Gavin Shirley and Nick Tryon.

Also not surprising, Jay Burgess took the top spot in the womens race with a total mph of 24.393.  Christine McLean  who this year was bronze medalists in the 10TT and silver in both the 25 and 50 takes the silver with newcomer to the sport, Lynsey Curren, Glasgow Couriers  the bronze.   To add to their 50 team gold, Toni McIntosh and Lynne Wardrop of Ayr Roads take the team Gold.

Top Junior is Craig Ward, Ythan CC and Andy Brown takes the Youth gold.

Scottish Cycling would like to thank all the organisers and riders for taking part in these events.  Thanks also to John Macmillan for collating and producing the BAR results on our behalf and to Martin and Ed at VeloVeritas.co.uk for sharing their race reports.

Massive Congratulations to all our medal winners and to everybody who had a personal best in 2013.

Janette Hazlett, National Events Officer

Click below for the Veloveritas Reports:

British Time Trial Championships

25 mile Time Trial Championships

50 mile Time Trial Championships

Arthur Doyle Hill Climb

Up the Kirk hill Climb