2013 Scottish Cycling National Track Championships - Day two results round up


Posted: 12th October 2013

Results: Youth A 500m TT | Junior Women's Sprint | Women's 500m TT | Youth A girls Sprint

Youth A girls 500m TT | Junior Keirin | Womens Keirin | Youth A Sprint | Men's Sprint

It was full steam ahead at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome on day two of the Scottish Cycling National Track Championships as Team GB athlete Callum Skinner hoped to make it a 2013 double championship win after crashing just hours before the 2012 Senior Sprint final at the ThunderDrome event, shattering his collarbone. But City of Edinburgh RC team mate was ready to defend his title.

Potential Commonwealth Games athletes Skinner and John Paul went all out in a head to head Men’s Sprint final, with Paul taking the victory, after two nail biting finals races, to become Scottish Men’s Sprint Champion for 2013, blowing Skinner’s chances of that double title. In the bronze medal race Bruce Croall made it a clean sweep for City of Edinburgh RC storming to victory over Jonathan Mitchell (Glasgow Life Track Cycling Team) securing a bronze medal.  

Speaking after the race Scottish Cycling Performance athlete John Paul said: “ I have just had a week and a half off the bike, so winning was really unexpected but I am delighted to be able to walk away with a Scottish title, knowing that the Commonwealth Games are taking place here in just over nine months.”

In the women’s Junior Sprint Team ASL360 rider Flora Gillies narrowly missed out on a championship win to Kate Mccullough-Young (City of Edinburgh RC) clocking a time of 13.466.  It was also gold for Jack Carlin (Team Thomsons Cycles) in the Youth A boys Sprint final where he was up against Glasgow Riderz rider Rhys Donnelly taking silver and Grant Martin (Perth United CC) bronze.

It all paid off for Airdrie born Hannah McDade who earlier in the week travelled from the United States to compete at this weekend’s Championships and claim the Youth A girls Sprint Championship title.

Hannah travelled from Portland, Oregan to compete this weekend’s Championships.  Speaking to Scottish Cycling McDade said:  “It’s been a fantastic opportunity to come over from America to train and race in Scotland. It’s such a great facility and I am delighted to have won the Scottish Cycling National Championship title.”

It was an action packed Women’s Keirin with a City of Edinburgh RC making it yet another clean sweep. Emma Baird managed to claim her second victory at the championships, with Delhi Commonwealth Games Silver medallist Jennifer Davis taking Silver and Louise Haston clinching the bronze. It was also another gold for Mark Stewart (Team ASL360) in the Junior Men’s Keirin whilst Louise Borthwick (Edinburgh RC) took the Junior Women’s Keirin title.

27 year old Eleanor Richardson (Edinburgh RC) denied City of Edinburgh Racing Team’s Emma Baird a triple championship title in the Women’s 500m Time Trial with a winning time of 36.552, however Baird did managed a Personal Best time of 36.678 for Silver. Recently crowned World Masters 500m Time Trial champion Alison Chisholm (Edinburgh RC) added a Bronze to this week’s medal collection.  

Speaking to Scottish Cycling new crowned Scottish Champion Eleanor Richardson said: “I really wanted to win the Scottish Championship title, especially the year before the Commonwealth Games as this is the event I am going for qualification in. I have already ridden a 36.1 and believe I have a high 35 in me, it’s something to work on over the winter months.”

In the Youth A Boys 500m Time Trial Jack Carlin (Team Thompson Cycles) took the championship title with a time of 35.040 ahead of Glasgow Riderz Rhys Donnelly and Jack Crombie (Sandy Wallace Cycles).  The Youth A Girls 500m Time Trial saw Rebecca Dornan (The Racers) take the National title with a time of 40.376 while fellow Racer Lulu Bartlett clocked a 40.97 to take to Bronze just behind Hannah McDade who clocked a 40.965.

Day three of the competition will see the City of Edinburgh RC trio Callum Skinner, John Paul and Bruce Croall take on two Glasgow Life Track Cycling Team’s in the Team Sprint. Whilst team mates Alison Chisholm and Eleanor Richardson (Edinburgh RC) will pair up for the Women’s Team Sprint, going up against Emma Baird and Jenny Davis of City of Edinburgh RC and teams from Team Thomsons Cycles, Edinburgh RC and The Racers.

Youth A Boys 500m Time Trial

  1. Jack Carlin, Team Thompson Cycles
  2. Rhys Donnelly, Glasgow Riderz
  3. Jack Crombie, Sandy Wallace Cycles

Women’s Junior Sprint

  1. Kate Mccullough-Young, City of Edinburgh RC
  2. Flora Gillies, Team ASL360

Women’s 500m Time Trail

  1. Eleanor Richardson, Edinburgh RC
  2. Emma Baird, City of Edinburgh RT
  3. Alison Chisholm, Edinburgh RC

Youth A Girls Sprint

  1. Hannah McDade
  2. Rebecca Dornan, The Racers
  3. Rosa Martin, Ribble Valley Juniors

Youth A Girls 500 Time Trial

  1. Rebecca Dornan, The Racers
  2. Hannah McDade
  3. Lulu Barlett, The Racers

Junior Men’s Keirin

  1. Mark Stewart, Team ASL360
  2. Finn Harrod, Discovery Junior CC
  3. Zak Loney, Team LFH

Junior Women’s Keirin

  1. Louise Borthwick, Edinburgh RC
  2. Kate Mccullough Young, City of Edinburgh RC
  3. Flora Gillies, Team ASL360

Senior Women’s Keirin

  1. Emma Baird, City of Edinburgh RC
  2. Jennifer Davis, City of Edinburgh RC
  3. Louise Haston, City of Edinburgh RC

Youth  A boys Sprint

  1. Jack Carlin, Team Thomsons Cycles
  2. Rhys Donnelly, Glasgow Ridez
  3. Grant Martin, Perth United CC

Senior Men’s Sprint

  1. John Paul, City of Edinburgh RC
  2. Callum Skinner, City of Edinburgh RC
  3. Bruce Croall, City of Edinburgh RC

The Scottish National Track Championships will take place from 11th – 13th October & 27th October at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome, Glasgow. Tickets: Friday 11th, £6/ £3 concession; Saturday 12th, £10/£3 concession; Sunday 13th, £6/ £3 concession and Sunday 27th, £10/£3 concession or Season ticket for 11, 12 and 13 October, £15.


Tickets can be purchased at the venue on the day of each event.