2013 Scottish Cycling National Track Championships - Day one results round up


Posted: 11th October 2013

Results: Junior & Youth Madison | Junior Mens Sprint | Open Keirin | Women's Sprint

It was an exciting first day of racing at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome where Team GB athlete Callum Skinner beat City of Edinburgh RC team mate John Paul to take gold in the Men’s Keirin. Skinner sadly couldn’t compete in 2012 after crashing just hours before the Senior Sprint final at the ThunderDrome event, breaking his collarbone.

Speaking to Scottish Cycling after the race, new Scottish Champion and potential 2014 Commonwealth Games athlete Callum Skinner said: “It’s great to come home and race at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome, knowing that the Commonwealth Games are going to take place here in less than a year.  I am delighted that I can call myself Scottish National Keirin Champion for 2013.”

Emma Baird (City of Edinburgh RC) clinched the women’s Sprint Championship title where she battled it out with Eleanor Richardson (Edinburgh RC) and Veteran rider Louise Haston took Bronze after beating newcomer Ishbel Taromssari (Pedal Power RT).

Team ASL 360’s Tom Arnstein and Mark Stewart took the Junior Madison championships title, Mark Stewart then became a double Scottish Champion winning the Junior Sprint, ahead of Tom Arnstein and Fraser Martin (Perth United CC).

Youth A Madison Results

  1. Staurt Balfour, Ronde-Bycycle Outfitters

Ben Forsyth, Edinburgh RC

  1. Matthias Barnet, Edinburgh RC

Rhys Donnelly, Glasgow Riderz

  1. Grant Martin, Perth United CC

Lewis Mulholland, Johnstone Wheelers CC

Junior Madison Results

  1. Tom Arnstein, Team ASL360

Mark Stewart, Team ASL360

Women’s Sprint Results

Emma Baird, City of Edinburgh RC

  1. Eleanor Richardson, Edinburgh RC
  2. Louise Haston, City of Edinburgh RC

Junior Sprint Results

 Mark Stewart, Team ASL360

  1. Tom Arnstein, Team ASL360
  2. Fraser Martin, Perth United CC

Senior Men’s Keirin Results

  1. Callum Skinner, City of Edinburgh RC
  2. John Paul, City of Edinburgh RC
  3. Angus Gillies, TheBicycleWorks.com

The Scottish National Track Championships will take place from 11th – 13th October & 27th October at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome, Glasgow. Tickets: Friday 11th, £6/ £3 concession; Saturday 12th, £10/£3 concession; Sunday 13th, £6/ £3 concession and Sunday 27th, £10/£3 concession or Season ticket for 11, 12 and 13 October, £15.


Tickets can be purchased at the venue on the day of each event.