Race Report


Published: 11 April 2013

Article: Race Report

Photos from Jan Wildenhain: Click here to view the gallery

Squally showers and a lively south-westerly gale greeted riders at Eddleston for Edinburgh RC's Tour of the Meldons MTT. Whilst numbers were down slightly on previous years a quality field had assembled for what was also the SC Olympic Championships. Last year's Olympic Champions from the Tour de Trossachs Alistair Robinson and Jennifer Taylor were present to defend their titles from previous champion Arthur Doyle and Meldons 2012 champion Jim Cusick and Trossachs silver medallist up Vicky Ware.

Edinburgh RC's Rosemary Byde had the honour of first rider off. Well warmed up after a bracing commute down to Eddleston Rosemary couldn't match the pace of Jennifer Taylor, Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers who stormed round in a 01:08:24 to win comfortably from Anda-Jay Burgess, Sandy Wallace Cycles (01:10:31) and Toni McIntosh, Ayr Roads CC (01:12:53).

Reluctant male riders were prodded out of the Village Hall to follow in their female counterparts' (tyre) tracks. A fast first mile led to a gravelly grovel over Shiplaw before the "delights" of a block headwind all the way down the mercilessly exposed extended leg to Blyth Bridge. Things improved with a fast return fortunately, wind assistance helping those riders using GPS computers to take a clean sweep of the top ten on the Strava Meldons segment leader board. (Unsurprisingly no records were set for Strava's Lamancha - Rommano Bridge section.)

Early seeds Ross Laidlaw, David Griffiths and Finlay Young all posted good times in trying conditions. Other clubmen were happy just to finish having weathered the storm and a testing course still showing the ravages of a harsh snow bound winter. It was the later riders who posted the top times however with Alan Thomson (00:57:27) narrowly beating his Sandy Wallace Cycles team mate Silas Goldsworthy by a slender 8s. Arthur Doyle, Dooleys Cycles took bronze a further 13s down. Sandy Wallace Cycles crowned a successful day by also taking the Olympic Team Championship.

SC Olympic TT Championship Medallists


Gold Alan Thomson   Sandy Wallace Cycles   S   00:57:27
Silver Silas Goldsworthy   Sandy Wallace Cycles   S   00:57:35
Bronze Arthur Doyle   www.Dooleys-Cycles.co.uk   V   00:57:48


Gold Jennifer Taylor   Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers   F   01:08:24
Silver Anda-Jay Burgess   Sandy Wallace Cycles   F   01:10:31
Bronze Toni McIntosh   Ayr Roads Cycling Club   F   01:12:53


Sandy Wallace Cycles - Alan Thomson, Silas Goldsworthy, Allan Mill 03:00:43

Full Results:

1   Alan Thomson   Sandy Wallace Cycles   S   00:57:27
2   Silas Goldsworthy   Sandy Wallace Cycles   S   00:57:35
3   Arthur Doyle   www.Dooleys-Cycles.co.uk   V   00:57:48
4   James Cusick   Glasgow Couriers   V   00:59:07
5   Alistair Robinson   Team Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutique   S   00:59:11
6   Chris Smart   Paisley Velo Race Team   S   00:59:29
7   Edward Addis   Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers   S   00:59:55
8   Steven Lawley   TheBicycleWorks.com   S   01:00:31
9   Finlay Young   Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers   S   01:01:37
10   David Griffiths   Glasgow Whls   S   01:02:00
11   Ross Laidlaw   Gala Cycling Club   S   01:02:32
12   James McPake   GJS Cruise Racing   S   01:02:57
13   Graeme Hay   Stirling Bike Club   V   01:02:57
14   Kenneth Russell   Edinburgh RC   V   01:03:10
15   Jason Barnes   Glasgow Nightingale CC   S   01:04:45
16   David Caesar   TheBicycleWorks.com   S   01:05:05
17   Allan Mill   Sandy Wallace Cycles   S   01:05:41
18   Ian King   Velocity 44 Stirling   V   01:06:26
19   James MacDonald   Paisley Velo Race Team   S   01:06:41
20   Stephen Blom   Paisley Velo Race Team   S   01:06:47
21   Keith Morrison   Edinburgh RC   V   01:07:41
22   Paul Gareze   Lomond Roads CC   S   01:08:04
23   Ian Pearson   Gala Cycling Club   V   01:08:13
24   Jonny May   Edinburgh RC   V   01:08:15
25   Jennifer Taylor   Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers   F   01:08:24
26   Graham Jones   Edinburgh RC   V   01:08:30
27   Douglas Kirkham   Musselburgh RCC   V   01:08:50
28   David McCormack   Paisley Velo Race Team   S   01:10:03
29   Warren Crombie   Edinburgh RC   V   01:10:06
30   Anda-Jay Burgess   Sandy Wallace Cycles   F   01:10:31
31   Alexander Kinsley   Edinburgh RC   JM   01:10:35
32   Steve Dauncey   Edinburgh RC   S   01:10:35
33   Mark Leadbetter   Stirling Bike Club   V   01:12:33
34   Keir Greatorex   Edinburgh RC   JM   01:12:40
35   Andrew Bothwell   Edinburgh RC   V   01:12:51
36   Toni McIntosh   Ayr Roads Cycling Club   F   01:12:53
37   Francis Webb   Edinburgh RC   YM   01:13:31
38   Tom Kiely   Edinburgh RC   V   01:13:34
39   Scott Bell   Edinburgh RC   V   01:13:42
40   Grant Martin   Perth United   YM   01:14:15
41   Kim McGillivray   Edinburgh RC   V   01:14:16
42   Stuart Young      S   01:14:22
43   Vicky Ware   VC Moulin   F   01:14:33
44   Chris Allen   Edinburgh RC   V   01:15:09
45   Scott Newman   Inverclyde Velo   S   01:15:38
46   Paul Lawson   Weaver Valley CC   V   01:16:11
47   Rosemary Byde   Edinburgh RC   F   01:16:15
48   Andrew Sinclair   Edinburgh RC   V   01:18:04
49   Colin Russell   Edinburgh RC   V   01:22:02

Published: 11 April 2013

Article: Race Preview and Start Sheet

Download: Start Sheet

Sunday 14th April sees Edinburgh RC's Tour of the Meldons Mountain Time Trial, one of the classic time trial events on the Scottish Calendar with a history dating back to the 1930s, hosting the SC Olympic TT Champs on an elongated course taking in Shiplaw, Blyth Bridge and the Meldons before finishing in the scenic grounds of the Barony Castle Hotel, Eddleston - http://www.baronycastle.com

The Ladies Championships features a field of eight which includes defending champion Jennifer Taylor, 2012 runner up Vicky Ware, VC Moulin and Edinburgh RC's emerging talent Louise Borthwick.

The Men's Championship has a strong field of past champions including Alistair Robinson, Team Leslie Bike Shop (2012 Olympic TT Champion), Arthur Doyle, Dooleys Cycles (2011 Olympic TT Champion) and Jim Cusick, Glasgow Couriers (defending Meldons champion).

Download: Start Sheet

Published: 22 March 2013

Article: Scottish Cycling Olympic Time Trial Championships

Scottish Cycling is delighted to announce that the Tour of the Meldons, one of the classic time trial events on the Scottish Calendar, will this year include the Scottish Cycling Olympic Time trial Championship.  The Championship medals will be awarded to the fastest man, women and each of the fastest teams. 

The race has been organised by the Edinburgh Road Club for many years, with a history dating back to the 1930s.

You can now enter the event online by CLICKING HERE

Entries close on 31/03/2013.

For more information and to read about the history of the event please visit www.edinburghrc.co.uk