South West Scotland Cycling Project Team Time Trial

Published on: 4th March 2013

Article by: Alan Denman

The 2013 South West Scotland Cycling Project got off to a flying start on Saturday with 73 riders taking to the start line for the TTT, a new addition to this years calendar. 

With seven youth teams and three womens teams, it’s evident that the region is continuing to develop in these two categories. Of the youth teams it was also encouraging to see 2 girls teams and two mixed teams taking part..

The overall win went to Classic RT trio of Tommy Lockhart, John Patterson and Chris Stewart who recorded 31:46 for the 20km route. Second place went to the Junior trio of Hector Lancaster, Fraser Martin and Zak Loney, who unforunatley had to nurse one of their team up the final 3km climb after braking two spokes. The juniors also took third spot with Cameron Balfour, Gavin Shuttleworth and Aidan Quinn.

The youth prizes were taken by the Glasgow Riderz team of Calum Shackley, Lewis Stewart and Innes Johnson in the boys event with a super fast time of 37:13, beating local Stewartry Wheelers team of Lewis Martin, Adam Burgoyne and Calum Wrathal into second. Stewartry Wheelers though managed to get the top spot though in the girls race with Laurie Adamson and sisters Fiona and Elidh Thompson beating Annan Youth CC’s Eve Irving, Kayleigh Proudfoot and Victoria Graham. In the mixed teams, Cameron Oliver teamed up with girls Megan Heuchan and Polly Henderson to record the quickest time.

Of the three womens teams, juniors Louise Borthwick and Flora Gillies were quickest followed home by Melanie Martin, Toni McCartney and Mhari Duff and, in their first race Jennifer Oliver, Hannah McAndrew and Eileen Watson.

Click here to download the full results