Road: Ramirez wins Battle of the Braes

Home » Road racing

Location: Callander, Stirling
Event: 18 August 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Spanish visitor Alain Ramirez (Duranguesa SC) secured victory in the Battle of the Braes Road Race in Stirling on Saturday.

The talented youngster was five seconds ahead of Craig McCulloch (Velo Ecosse) after clipping off the front of the bunch in the leadout to the finish of the 54-mile race.

Junior Ayrton Pellet (Edinburgh RC) showed his promise with third spot in the race which attracted some experienced riders.


1 Alain Ramirez Duranguesa S.C. Junior 02:22:17

2 Craig McCulloch Velo Ecosse 2nd @ 5sec

3 Ayrton Pellet Edinburgh RC J3 st

4 Bradley Stokes Pedal Power RT J3 st

5 Andrew Whitehall Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers 2nd st

6 Lewis Oliphant Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers 2nd st

7 Andrew Cox 2nd st

8 Richard McDonald 2nd st

9 Duncan Ewing 3rd st

10 Craig Wallace Granite City RT J2 st

11 Daniel Halliday Velo Club Edinburgh 3rd st

12 Paul Stubbs Ferryhill Wheelers CC 3rd st

13 Lewis Hodgart Glasgow Couriers 2nd st

14 Simon van Bellen Aberdeen Wheelers CC 2nd st

15 Neil Taylor Edinburgh RC 2nd st

16 Veli-Matti Raikkonen Granite City RT 2nd st

17 Jack Beezer Leighton Buzzard Road Cycling Club 2nd st

18 Ewan Minty Berwick Wheelers CC 2nd st

19 David Anderson Deeside Thistle CC 3rd st

20 Arron Sands Lomond Roads CC 4th 16

21 Keith Laird Glasgow Couriers 3rd 19

22 Tim Blathwayt Velo Club Edinburgh 2nd 26

23 Dominic Hines Velo Club Edinburgh 2nd 39

24 Andrew Matheson Musselburgh Road Cycling Club 3rd st

25 Douglas Taylor Deeside Thistle CC 4th st

26 Calum Foster Team Leslie Bike Shop - Right Move Windows J2 42

27 Peter Hale GJS Racing Team J2 45

28 John Gartland GJS Racing Team 3rd 56

29 Scott Johnston Icarus Racing 3rd 01:11

30 Malcolm Paterson Glasgow Nightingale CC 3rd 01:26

31 Andrew Colman Edinburgh Road Club 4th 02:02

32 Kyle Petrie Stirling Bike Club J3 02:03

33 Angus Elliott 2nd 02:16

34 Hamish MacLean L.A.B. R.A.T Cycling Club 3rd 02:35

35 Peter Ward Velo Club Edinburgh 3rd 02:39

36 David Griffiths Glasgow Whls 2nd 03:21

37 Gavin Shirley 2nd 03:24

38 Andrew Davies 3rd 03:33

39 Gary McCrae Team Leslie Bike Shop - Right Move Windows 2nd 03:39

40 Georges Avraam Edinburgh RC 4th 04:00

41 Martin Smith Velo Sport Jersey 4th 04:04

42 Colin McLellan Velo Club Edinburgh 4th 06:33

43 Terence McMahon Glasgow Ivy CC 4th st

44 Oscar Marletta VC Glasgow South 4th st

45 John Milligan Dundee Wheelers CC 4th 06:39

46 Stuart Munro East Kilbride Road Club 4th 06:42

47 Jack King Unattached 4th st

48 Alastair McNicol 2nd 07:10

49 Scot Bullivant Rock And Road Cycles 3rd 10:28

50 Gary McDonald Unattached 4th 10:45

51 Buchanan Paterson Stirling Bike Club 4th 27.13

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.