Joseph Fry takes victory in Hatherleigh Junior Road Race

Joseph Fry takes victory in Hatherleigh Junior Road Race

Home » Road racing

Joseph Fry of RST RT beat Charlie Tanfield (ADEPT Precision RT) in a sprint finish in the British Cycling Junior Road Race Series in Hatherleigh on Sunday.

Fry, a first year junior, rode strongly in the winds circulating through the undulating West Devon countryside to lead the two man breakaway.

Fry and Tanfield finished out in front of the leading group who were unable to chase them down on this 63-mile circuit.

The first major test came at the 10-mile mark with a steep climb at an average gradient of 16%. It was here that Joseph Wiltshire (NFTO RC) and Charlie Tanfield broke away building a small lead for almost 20 miles until being caught by the reservoir.

Then, 50km into the race, a big split occurred with Joe Fry and Thomas Bayliss of HARIBO Beacon Racing Team being a strong motivating influence driving the small group ahead. At the first feed zone, information was fed through indicating a lead of 57 seconds had been established.

Having completed the main 40-mile loop, the riders headed onto a one-and-a-half lap circular route of seven miles where Fry said he felt strong.

Working hard with his team, it was noted that not everyone was coming through to take their turn, perhaps saving themselves for the last lap or possibly through lack of energy.

The lead had built up to two minutes on the second lap when Fry and Alex Braybrooke of Velocity WD-40 pushed hard to form a small lead being brought back into the lead group after 1km.

It was then the turn of John Didsbury of Summit Cycling who, with a select few others, decided to launch an attack leading to a small gap that Fry and Tanfield managed to breach from the second group.

Seeing that the front group was a little disorganised, Fry and Tanfield set about an attack with two miles to go. No one was able to follow them leading to a sprint finish between the two of them.

Fry held back and finally put down the power 100 metres from the line to take an easy victory.

Commenting on his first win at a national series, Fry said how delighted he was but made it very clear of the significance his team had made in achieving the win covering the moves.

Andy the race director congratulated the riders for a superb race that was open until the end.

1 Joseph Fry (RST RT)
2 Charlie Tanfield (ADEPT Precision RT/NE Heathcare)
3 John Didsbury (Summit Cycling)
4 Alexander Braybrooke (Velocity WD-40)
5 Tristan Robbins (BH-Solidor-Wamyouth)
6 Thomas Bayliss (Haribo Beacon Cycling Team)
7 Joseph Wiltshire (NFTO Race Club)
8 Fabian Brennan (Velocity WD-40)
9 Max Speeding (PH-MAS Cycling)
10 Harrison Jones (NFTO Race Club)