TT: Wallace back from Belgium in winning form

Home » Road racing

Location: Drumoak, Aberdeenshire
Event: 15 September 2013
Report: Colin Sim/Snowdon Sports

Craig Wallace (Granite City RT), recently returned from a spell of racing in Belgium, was the fastest on the day with a fine time of 21-11 in Aberdeen Wheelers’ 10-mile event on a course at Drumoak.

Wallace, 18, overcame unfavourable conditions – with a strong wind and showers – to take the top spot despite runner-up Joe Nicholson, from the promoting club, recording a personal best 21-37 on the A93 course near Peterculter.

Veteran Bob Brown (Sandy Wallace Cycles) was a further 21 seconds off the pace in third place.

After some uncertainty whether the event would go ahead, the decision was made at the last minute and all riders completed the course safely with the exception of one puncture victim,


1 Craig Wallace Granite City RT JM

2 Joe Nicolson Aberdeen Wheelers CC S

3 Robert Brown Sandy Wallace Cycles V

4 Michael Spalding Granite City RT V

5 Lee Smith Aberdeen Wheelers CC S

6 Greg Quinn Deeside Thistle CC V

7 Ian Wilson Deeside Thistle CC V

8 Zak Loney Team LFH JM

9 William Bavidge Ythan CC V

10 Iain Watson Aberdeen Wheelers CC S

11 James Whyman Aberdeen Wheelers CC S

12 Malcolm Young Deeside Thistle CC V

13 Jordan Stronach Ythan CC JM

14 Mark Higgins Granite City RT V

15 Bob Cowie Aberdeen Wheelers CC V

16 Craig Ward Ythan CC JM

17 Michael Giles Ythan CC V

18 Derek Stewart Deeside Thistle CC V

19 Ian Grant Deeside Thistle CC V

20 Jennifer Taylor Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers F

21 Austen Bodie Aberdeen Wheelers CC V

22 Neil Mosgrove Aberdeen Wheelers CC S

23 Darren Stewart Unattached S

24 Rod Cowe Aberdeen Wheelers CC S

25 Chris Watt Aberdeen Wheelers CC S

26 Ross Hayworth Aberdeen Wheelers CC V

27 Kevin Milne Aberdeen Wheelers CC S

28 Gordon Smith Deeside Thistle CC V

29 Jacqueline Laing Deeside Thistle CC FV

30 Simon Stromberg Deeside Thistle CC V

31 Hamish Cooper Ythan CC S

32 Carol Middleton Ythan CC FV

33 Jennie McColl Aberdeen Wheelers CC FV

34 Colin Wallace Unattached S

35 Graham Ward Ythan CC V

36 John Hunter Aberdeen Wheelers CC S

37 Iain McLeod Denny Road Club V

38 Michael Bibby Aberdeen Wheelers CC YM

39 Kris Jackson Ythan CC S

40 Kirsten Knight Aberdeen Wheelers CC YF

41 Steven Gray Aberdeen Wheelers CC V

42 Debbie Ley Aberdeen Wheelers CC FV

43 Norman Fraser Ythan CC V

44 Yvonne Winter Ythan CC V

45 George Findlater Moray Cycle Racing Team V

46 Jean-Baptiste Pose Deeside Thistle CC V

47 Calum Cowie Deeside Thistle CC V

48 Christine McLean Shetland Wheelers FV

49 Malcolm Grant Ythan CC V

50 Paul Winter Ythan CC V

51 Callum Finlayson Moray Firth Cycling Club V

52 David Wards West Lothian Clarion CC V

53 Andy Duncan Ythan CC V

54 Mark Heady Aberdeen Wheelers CC V

55 Kenneth Anderson Deeside Thistle CC V

56 Stephen Cairns Perth United Cycling Club V

57 Norman Skene Granite City RT V

58 Conan Abel Aberdeen Wheelers CC S

59 Danny Hedley Discovery Junior Cycling Club YM

60 Philip Kelman Deeside Thistle CC V

61 Stuart Ley Deeside Thistle CC V

62 Brendan McCabe Aberdeen Wheelers CC V

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.