Road: Greenhalgh sprints to CDNW win

Road: Greenhalgh sprints to CDNW win

Home » Road racing

Location: Bickerstaffe, Ormskirk
Event: 24 August 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Wayne Greenhalgh (Champions Systems/Maxgera/Base) won the third and fourth category round 17 of the CDNW series at Bickerstaffe after sprinting past his breakaway companion.

Greenhalgh, aged 42, from Wigan, took his first win of the season after recording two fourth places earlier on in the year.

The pairing of Greenhalgh and Brad Morgan (Bill Nickson Cycles) battled it out for the victory after building a slender advantage over a broken peloton completing the 65 kilometres in 1 hour 43 minutes.

Greenhalgh came out on top in the sprint with local rider Nigel Kershaw, from Ormskirk, finishing six seconds behind the leaders in third place.


1 Wayne Greenhalgh (Champion System/Maxgear/Base) 1-46-00
2 Brad Morgan (Bill Nickson Cycles RT) same time
3 Nigel Kershaw (BC Private Member) at 6 sec
4 Philip Gray (Kuota- Spinergy-GSG) same time
5 Christopher Waters (Ribble Valley Juniors) at 10 sec
6 Richard Rees (Ystwyth Cycling Club)
7 Martyn Gordon (Champion System/Maxgear/Base) all same time
8 Adam Britton (Champion System/Maxgear/Base) at 30 sec
9 David Crowley (Bill Nickson Cycles RT) same time
10 Rob Shirley (BC Private Member) at 34 sec
11 Steven Allcock (Team V-Sprint Racing)
12 Michael Rothwell (Manchester Wheelers Club)
13 Sammy K Y Cheung (BC Private Member)
14 Darran Acton (Team Leapfrog) all same time
15 Thomas Brazier (Chester RC) at 38 sec

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.