Road: Baldwin sprints to victory in Gainsborough

Road: Baldwin sprints to victory in Gainsborough

Home » Road racing

Location: Gainsborough, Lincolnshire
Event: 3 August 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Richard Baldwin (Bike Box Allan/Whiston Velo) sprinted to his first victory of the season out of a three-man breakaway in 2/3/4 race at the first round of the Scunthorpe Poly Blyton circuit races in Gainsborough.

A quick start saw a number of attacks and breaks which all came to nothing until Andy Hayton (Squadra RT) broke away alone.

He was then joined three laps later by Baldwin and Elliott Pike (Lichfield City CC) and these three riders worked well together to build up a 45 second gap on the bunch.

A number of attacks from the main bunch failed to bridge the gap but did bring the time gap down to 20 seconds, at which point Alex Dalton saw his chance to bridge across to the break with his team mate Andy Hayton slowing the pace in the breakaway to help him to get across.

These four then settled down to build a two minute lead by the finish and the quartet sprinted it out for the victory.

Baldwin, aged 20, from Doncaster was the quickest ahead of 16-year-old Alex Dalton from North Ferriby taking second place and Andy Hayton (Squadra RT) in third.

Hayton won six sprint laps to take the sprint points competition from the race winner Richard Baldwin who took five sprints.

In the youth event Joe Wilson (Stockton Wheelers) made his trip down worthwhile by winning the youth C/D/E handicap race.

He left the other under 12 riders and then caught the remaining under 10s and under 8s and sprinted it out to win from local rider Max Poole (Linc squad) in second and Taylor Carr (Lichfield CC) in third after the these two managed to hang on to Wilson to contest the finish.

Max Williamson had to put in a similar effort to Joe Wilson to win the youth A/B handicap event leaving the other under 16 riders to bridge a one minute gap to catch the under 14 riders.

He only just managed to win the sprint from James Armstrong (VC Lincoln) in second and Liam Hindmarsh (Dinnington RC) after these three pulled away from the rest.



1 Richard Baldwin (Bike Box) 1:10:40

2 Alex Dalton (Squadra RT)

3 Andy Hayton (Squadra RT)

4 Elliott Pike (Lichfield City CC) all @ same time

5 Rick Lister (Ellmore Factory Racing) @2:01

6 Mark Cotton (Ellmore Factory Racing)

7 David Brearley (Scunthorpe Poly CC)

8 Neal Hunt (Flex-Tech Ettridge Cycles RT)

9 Luke Preston (Airedale Olympic)

10 Ronnie Coleman (Deeside Thistle CC)

11 Andrew Marsh (Dinnington RC)

12 Darrell Tattershall Walker (Tickhill Velo) all @ same time

Youth A/B

1 Max Williamson (Lincs Squad) 22:45

2 James Armstrong (VC Lincoln)

3 Liam Hindmarsh (Dinnington RC) both @ same time

4 Owyn Wallace (Derby Mercury RC) @ 21 seconds

5 Jacob Feetham (Wakefield Tri) @1:35

6 Mark Gee (Sherwood Pines Cycles) @1:49

7 Robbie Sturdy (Lincs Squad) @2:55

8 Owen Jordan (Nottinghamshire Police CC) @ same time

Youth C/D/E

1 Joe Wilson (Stockton Whls) 12:22

2 Max Poole (Lincs Squad)

3 Taylor Carr (Lichfield CC) both @ same time

4 Carter Howe (Heanor Clarion CC) @14sec

5 Euan Crehan (Dinnington RC) @26sec

6 Alexander Brown (Halesowen CC) @38sec

7 Harrison Walace (Derby Mercury RC) @1:38

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.