Road: Van Bellen snatches victory at the Petrex Cup

Road: Van Bellen snatches victory at the Petrex Cup

Home » Road racing

Location: Midmar, Aberdeenshire
Event: 11 July 2013
Report: Ben Goddard/Snowdon Sports

Simon Van Bellen (Aberdeen Whls CC) sprinted past his breakaway companion to take the Patrex Cup incorporating the Aberdeen and District CA Road Race Championship.

On a warm evening 45 riders competed over 46 miles and the racing stated from the gun when the winning breakaway of 11 riders established itself on the first lap.

The break built up a lead of 2 minutes 30 seconds on the bunch and in the last three miles Brian Widdison (Moray Firth CC) attacked the breakaway.

Van Bellen jumped across the gap with half a mile to go and then beat Widdison by two meters in the sprint finish.

Van Bellen, aged 31, from Aberdeen claimed his first road win of the season after finishing highly in local time-trials.

Martin Lonie from East Kilbride won the sprint from the remains of the original breakaway to claim third place.


1 Simon Van Bellen Aberdeen Wheelers CC

2 Brian Widdison Moray Firth CC

3 Martin Lonie + 00:00:13

4 Michael Henderson Moray Firth CC

5 Alister Watt Granite City RT

6 Chris Pitblado Moray Firth CC

7 Veli-Matti Raikkonen Granite City RT + 00:00:17

8 Tim Mackley Deeside Thistle CC

9 Kevin Barclay

10 Lee Smith Aberdeen Wheelers CC + 00:00:19

11 Brian Duncan Granite City RT + 00:00:27

12 Ross Mallen Royal Air Force CC + 00:02:32

13 Jonathan Hunter Aberdeen Wheelers CC

14 William Crawford Granite City RT

15 Robert Cowie Aberdeen Wheelers CC

16 David Reed Deeside Thistle CC

17 Keith Robertson Granite City RT

18 Finn Harrod Dicovery Junior CC

19 Cristian Tudorache Granite City RT

20 David Stewart Deeside Thistle CC

21 Mark Tandy Deeside Thistle CC

22 Mark Murray Moray Firth CC

23 Fraser MacBeath Moray Firth CC

24 Douglas Weir Lomonds Roads CC

25 Neil Scott Aberdeen University CC

26 Neil Anderson Deeside Thistle CC

27 Kevin Watson Deeside Thistle CC

28 Jayson Weale Aberdeen Wheelers CC

29 Kevin Adam Deeside Thistle CC

30 Ewan Murray Velocity 44 Stirling + 00:02:50

31 Craig McCulloch Deeside Thistle CC + 00:02:54

32 Michael Spalding Granite City RT

33 David Anderson Granite City RT

34 Robert Brown Sandy Wallace Cycles + 00:03:08

35 John Huston Deeside Thistle CC + 00:03:21

36 Conan Abel Aberdeen Wheelers CC + 00:08:56

37 Malcolm Young Deeside Thistle CC + 00:09:00

38 Mona Petrie Deeside Thistle CC

39 William Bavidge Ythan CC

40 Ross Hayworth Aberdeen Wheelers CC + 00:09:09

41 Neil Kinninmonth Deeside Thistle CC + 00:14:40

42 James Whyman Aberdeen Wheelers CC + 00:16:18

43 Malcolm Grant Ythan CC + 00:19:01

44 Sietze Douwe Akkerman Deeside Thistle CC + 00:20:41

45 Charles Rollo unattached + 00:31:03

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.