Road: Dansie takes Rutty Memorial win

Road: Dansie takes Rutty Memorial win

Home » Road racing

Location: Bishop Sutton, Bristol
Event: 2 June 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Sam Dansie (Berwick Wheelers) was the fastest rider in a fast race as he took victory in the third Mike Rutty Memorial Road Race in Bristol.

It was the 31-year-old’s first win of the year with seventh place in the Taw Velo Stags Head Road Race in May being his previous best.

The race was constantly splitting and was contested at a furious pace. Although gaps were opened up and attacks were made throughout, nobody managed to get more than 20 seconds in front of the chasing pack.

On the final lap, it was Charles Rees (Team Tor 2000) that was out in front but he soon got swallowed up and with three miles to go, a bunch split away from the front and after Dansie crossed the line, the remainder of the top ten were within three seconds of him.


1 Sam Dansie (Berwick Wheelers) 2:12
2 Vincent Thomas (Forza Cycles RT)
3 Michael Ward (Ride24/7)
4 Mark Dolan (Mid Devon CC)
5 Ben Homa (Beeline Bicycles)
6 John Hollier (Team Tor 2000)
7 Scott Chalmers (Dream Cycling)
8 Ethan Lee (NFTO)
9 Daniel Walker (Fareham Wheelers CC)
10 Daniel Marshall (Bristol Cycling Development Squad) all @3sec

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.