Road: Johnston takes Glasgow win

Road: Johnston takes Glasgow win

Home » Road racing

Location: Eaglesham, Glasgow
Event: 26 May 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Scott Johnston (Icarus Racing) capitalised on a crash to take victory in the VC Glasgow South Road Race and reinforce his position at the top of the WoSCA table after two races.

Although plenty of attacks went in during the race, it was hard for anyone to get away as the wind lashed across the riders.

But then, with a mile to go, the turning point of the race came when there was a crash involving around eight riders.

Johnston, who came second in the first race, used the incident to his advantage, catching the leaders up and going on to win in a tight finish.

Scott said: "After the crash, there was a split of around 15-20 riders, I was further down but I sprinted on and caught them at the bottom of climb and that led to a sprint of about 20 men.

“I went round the outside and I had young Lewis on my wheel but managed to stay in front.”


1 Scott Johnston Icarus Racing 02:16:04

2 Lewis Grieve Spokes Racing Team @same time

3 Malcolm Paterson Glasgow Nightingale CC @same time

4 Ewan Tighe Scunthorpe Polytechnic CC @same time

5 Gary Maher Ayr Roads Cycling Club @same time

6 Allan Adams VC Glasgow South @4sec

7 Andrew Wilson Falkirk Bicycle Club @same time

8 Neill Kemp Glasgow Nightingale CC @same time

9 Ronnie Burns VC Glasgow South @same time

10 Alexander Kinsley Edinburgh RC @6sec

11 Marc Anderson Loudoun RC @same time

12 Andrew Bruce Kinross CC @same time

13 Ricky Sutherland Pro Am RC @same time

14 Scott Newman Inverclyde Velo @same time

15 Richard Provan Glasgow Couriers @11sec

16 Paul McDonald Johnstone Wheelers CC @12sec

17 Barry Cranstoun Icarus Racing @14sec

18 Ian Quinn Ivy CC @17sec

19 Derek McMillan St Christopher's CC @19sec

20 Keith Laird Team Thomsons Cycles @24sec

21 Malcolm Dunlop Velo Club Edinburgh

22 Steven Lanley

23 Terence McMahon Glasgow Ivy CC

24 Iain Elliott West Lothian Clarion CC

25 David Dalziel Glasgow Nightingale CC

26 Ruari Yeoman East Kilbride Road Club

27 Barry McGurk Glasgow Road Club

28 Richard McGhee Vortex Race Team

29 Paul Smith Glasgow Whls

30 Gary Bratt Lomond Roads CC

31 Lewis Duff Glasgow Couriers

32 George Roberts VC Glasgow South

33 Jamie Drever Glasgow Wheelers

34 Gary Davidson VC Astar Anderside

35 Paul McInally Rock And Road Cycles

36 David Blockley VC Astar Anderside

37 Robert Nicholson Classic Racing Team

38 Andrew Prenelle Icarus Racing

39 Craig Kidd Dunfermline CC

40 Kris Lindsay Edinburgh RC

41 Charles Vincent Walkers Cycling Club

42 David Torrance Ayr Roads Cycling Club

43 Philip Deveney Glasgow Nightingale CC

44 Nicky Cronin Glasgow Whls

45 Aidan Quinn Team ASL360

46 Alan Maxwell Pedal Power RT

47 Robert Robertson Glasgow Road Club

48 Craig Moffat Falkirk Bicycle Club

49 Sean Gordon Team Thomson Cycles

50 Douglas Taylor Deeside Thistle CC

51 John Farrell East Kilbride Road Club

52 David Barclay Lomond Roads CC

53 Oscar Marletta VC Glasgow South

54 Alastair McGibbon Ayr Roads Cycling Club

55 Paul Hornby Glasgow Ivy CC

56 Paul Torrance Ayr Roads Cycling Club

57 Samuel Shaw Stirling Bike Club

58 Gabriella Nordin Pedal Power RT

59 Andrew Gumley Johnstone Wheelers CC

60 Michael Readshaw Dumfries CC

61 Colin McPhee Johnstone Wheelers CC

62 William MacDonald Johnstone Wheelers CC

63 Gary Baxter Glasgow Ivy CC

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.

Membership discount for club members