Road: Wilson in Ludgershall win

Home » Road racing

Location: Corunna Barracks, Ludgershall, Wiltshire
Event: 23 March 2013

James Wilson (AW Cycles) won the first and last races at the Ludgershall winter series to wrap up the overall series as winner.

The Newbury rider was the first to show on the opening couple of laps, he was then in the break of four that went away and then was the first over the line to win ahead of Tavis Walker (Dream CC).

The E/1/2 race beat the worst of the weather on a bitterly cold morning at the circuit in Wiltshire as a brave select few turned up for the last race of an enjoyable winter series run by the Army Cycling Union at the REME Test Track Corunna Barracks.

After a couple of attacks James eased of the front but without any help he decided to drop back to the bunch and await another chance. At half distance four riders slipped off the front and had gained ten seconds lead.

The four included James, Tavis, Ben Rickaby (Southampton university RC) and Duncan Lancashire (Andover Wheelers). While these four worked hard to build a large lead of over a minute the remainder of the bunch there was still a twist in the remaining laps.

The four leaders were enjoying their lead when Duncan punctured and Ben slipped back all in the space of a couple of hundred meters. So with both James and Tavis clear the race came down to a sprint finish.

James started to lead out and Tavis settled for second crossing the line a couple of seconds back. Ben was seven seconds back with the bunch lead by Martin Smith almost 1-30 back.

Tristan Grigalis (Southampton University RC) also wrapped up the third cat overall and winning today’s race with a well-timed sprint from Tom Bowering (Swindon Cycles Race Academy).

The race was a close run affair with several riders including Roger Theron (ACU) and then Michael Ford (SRAM), who held the lead for three laps until 3mins from the end of the race when the race all came back together.

At the bell Tristan came to the front and led the whole of the last lap and then easily pulling clear to win the sprint away from Tom.

Provisional Results:

1 James Wilson AW Cycles 45mins +3laps
2 Tavis Walker Dream CC @2secs
3 Ben Rickaby Southampton University RC @7secs
4 Martin Smith AW Cycles @1min 32secs
5 Tom Bowering Swindon Cycles Race Academy @st

3rd Cats:
1 Tristan Grigalis SURC 35mins +3laps
2 Tom Bowering Swindon Cycles Race Academy
3 Joe Barry Performance Cycles

4th Cat Odd Numbers:
1 Noel Waldron VC Bristol 30mins +3laps
2 James Franklin VC Venta @st
3 Daniel Walker Fareham Wheelers CC +st

1 Helen Gardiner VC Bristol
2 Clair Wadden Bristol RC

4th Cat Even Numbers:
1 Alistair Barnard Bath Uni CC 30mins +3laps
2 Adam Nichols Bath UNI CC
3 Michael Gates Kingston Wheelers

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.