Road: Wilson wins round one of Ludgershall

Home » Road racing

REME Test Track, Corunna Barracks, Ludgershall, Wiltshire
Event: 12 January 2013

James Wilson made a great start to the season with his new team AW Cycles by cruising to a fine victory, and he even managed to lap the field on his way to the win.

After the first couple of laps James eased away from the small field and before the bell had lapped them all. He then contested the sprint in which he finished second.

As the E/1/2 race of 45mins and three laps James slipped away and he soon built up a 34 second lead and soon he was lapping the 1.1 mile circuit in 1min 45secs and he had the back of the bunch in view with a third of the race left.

The remaining six riders were content to stick together up until three lap board when Alec Rumble (ACU) attacked but the others soon pulled him back and it all came down to a sprint.

The REME test track in Wiltshire soon had standing water all around it as the relentless rain fell. It soon pulled all the grit and mud up into the faces of the riders and it soon resembled a cyclo-cross race. The rain came and went all morning throughout all the races and it was very chilly.

The wet morning got underway with a race for fourth cat riders, this race was 30 minutes +three laps and all came down to a bunch sprint, not before Gary Sheppard (Bath CC) had tried to get away with a couple to go.

Eleven riders lined up for the thirrd cat race and they had the best of the weather as the rain did ease.

This race was 40mins +3 laps and again this all came down to a bunch sprint but not before Thomas Key (Soton Uni RC) enjoyed a spell on the front before being brought back to the bunch.

Provisional results:

1 James Wilson AW Cycles 45mins +3laps
2 Richard Phillips-Scofield (Hants Police) @st
3 Simon Burnes (Pro Cycling Magazine) @st
4 Alec Rumble (Army Cycling Union)
5 Dan Dolan (Army Cycling Union)
Cat 3:
1 Matt Milden (Mud Sweat and Gears) 40 minutes +3laps
2 Alex Harding (Andover Wheelers) @st
3 Thomas Key (Soton Uni RC) @st
4 Matt Callaghan (Gloucester City CC) @st
5 Charles Sanders (Cadence) @st
Cat 4:
1 Joseph Thomas (Uni Bristol) 30mins +3laps
2 Matt Ulyatt (private member) @st
3 David Blount (private member) @st
4 Ruan Bester (Bath CC) @st
5 Sam Hewison (Army Cycling Union) @st

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.