Dame Sarah Storey named in Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team

Dame Sarah Storey named in Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team

Home » Road racing

Great Britain’s Dame Sarah Storey has been named as part of the Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team for the upcoming season.

The team was formerly known as VioRed Racing Team and well as containing experienced names such as Storey’s – who equalled Dame Tanni Grey-Thompson's record of 11 Paralympic golds after winning four gold medals in London – will focus on developing younger riders.

Team manager Rene Groot says: “It is a great opportunity for the team and riders to help a fantastic charity like Breast Cancer Care raise awareness around an issue that affects so many people and their families across the UK.

“The collaboration will go much further than the team riding in jerseys with the Breast Cancer Care logo on it. We will also advise and motivate people going on charity rides to raise money for the charity, we will organise fundraisers on the website and much more.”

Tom Whitehead, Sporting & Challenge Events Manager at Breast Cancer Care said: “We’re so excited that this incredible team of cyclists have decided to support us in 2013.

“Their commitment will help us to raise vital funds and awareness so that we can continue to provide services and support for the 55,000 men and women diagnosed with breast cancer each year in the UK. We’re sure that their support and determination will inspire many other people to take on a sporting challenge for Breast Cancer Care as well.”

Besides supporting Breast Cancer Care the team will also be partnering up with Scottish Cycling. Graeme Herd, head coach at Scottish Cycling: “Scottish Cycling has chosen to partner with the Breast Cancer Care cycling team in 2013 for the benefit of both parties. Scottish Cycling has invested significantly in women’s competition in preparation for the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.

“Both parties in the partnership have a similar outlook on the sport and the development of riders within it. We have several shared goals so this partnership is a good fit for us, both for 2013 and beyond.”

Breast Cancer Care Cycling Team

  • Dame Sarah Storey
  • Julie Leth, Denmark, 2011 Danish National Road Race Champion, 2010 World Junior Champion Points Race.
  • Elinor Thorogood, 2012 U23 National TT Champion
  • Kayleigh Brogan,  2012 Scottish National Road Race Champion
  • Amy Bradley, Australia
  • Anne Ewing
  • Claire Galloway
  • Ciara Horne
  • Ella Hopkins
  • Laura Murray
  • Gabriella Shaw
  • Jane Barr
  • Molly Weaver
  • Penny Rowson