Willis wins opening round of Winter in the Park Series

Willis wins opening round of Winter in the Park Series

Home » Road racing

Location:  Cyclopark, The Tollgate, Wrotham Road, Gravesend, Kent
Event: 24 November 2012

The under 8s and 10s were the first to start and it was a passionately contested race, with Caelan Miller taking top honours for the boys under 8s closely followed by Alfie Wood and Max Robinson.

No under 8 girls competed but the under 10 girls did well finishing mid-field with the boys and Abigail Old taking top spot followed by Hannah Bennett, second and Eleanor Baldwin taking third place.

Under 10 boys had to work hard towards the end and ultimately saw Harrison Powell in first, Cameron Coxon second and Lance Childs a close third. Under 12 boys and girls was another battle for the front as positions changed at every lap, it ended up as a lonely sprint for eventual winner Theo Modell, the under 12 girls was a little closer with Megan Panton riding to glory followed by India Gloag.

The under 14s boys race was won by Lewis Bulley, close behind was Gearg Jenson and Tim Torcie finishing a respectable third. In the under 14s girls Harriet Mellor was the eventual winner, there were no entries for Under 16 Girls

The A category under 16 boys was another hard fought race and all managing to keep it together till a sprint finish for second and third places for Archie Wishart and Joe Sutton, Dan Tullett claiming the win with a sizeable gap over the rest of the field.

The men’s race was held together by a small bunch of 13 riders working well together, keeping a quick pace which saw a few leave the bunch as the laps counted down.

A sprint finish headed out by the winner Miles Willis but pursued closely by Shaun Williams, Mark Leith Chas Bulley, Chris Farnell, Alex Jump, Danny Mathews, Jess Harding and Dan Wallier in a creatable ninth place and Danny Watts tucked in behind for tenth place overall.

The ladies race was close behind the men’s, after being held together all the way round, without a cigarette paper between them as they shared the work in a ten lap race, the outcome was contested crossing the line within seconds of each other, but it was Clair Gillotts pace which saw her win the race, in second place Elanor Cadzon and third was Lisa Deefhotts.