Road: Tindley on top in Powys Stage Race

Home » Road racing

Location: Builth Wells, Powys
Event: 4-5 August 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Victory in the final 63-mile road race saw Jo Tindley (VC St Raphael) take the overall honours in Abergavenny RC’s round of the Women’s Team Series, the two-day Auchterlonie Memorial Stage Race in Powys.

Molly Weaver (Scott Contessa Epic) laid down an early marker as fastest in the opening time trial by 17 seconds from the promoting club’s Laura Massey with Tindley a further ten seconds down in third place.

Weaver was still in front after the criterium stage with first-place points going to Karla Boddy (High Wycombe CC) ahead of Tindley to leave the two a point behind in second place.

But it was Tindley, 25, who had the final say as she powered home in the road race ahead of Massey and Siobhan McNamara (Look Mum No Hands) to finish three points clear and had to her national grass track title from the previous weekend.


Time trial:
1 Molly Weaver (Scott Contessa Epic) 15:22
2 Laura Massey (Abergavenny RC) 15:39
3 Jo Tindley (VC St Raphael) 15:49
4 Karla Boddy (High Wycombe CC) 15:51
5 Anna Grundy (Look Mum No Hands) 15:52
6 Suzanne Robinson (VC10) 1:58
7 Iona Sewell (GB 16:00
8 Anna Christian (Scott Contessa Epic) 16:10
9 Vanessa Whitfield (VC St Raphael) 16:11
10 Rebecca Hunbt (Scott Contessa Epic) 16:17
1 Karla Boddy
2 Jo Tindley
3 Molly Weaver
4 Siobhan McNamara (Look Mum No Hands)
5 Rebecca Heath (VC St Raphael)
6 Laura Massey
7 Anna Christian
8 Stephanie Magi (GB
9 Mary Evans (High Wycombe CC)
10 Elinor Winter (Abergavenny RC)
Road race:
1 Jo Tindley
2 Laura Massey
3 Siobhan McNamara
4 Karla Boddy
5 Gillian Taylor (Strada Cycles)
6 Joanne McRae (Look Mum No Hands)
7 Vanesa Whitfield
8 Molly Weaver
9 Emma Craddock (Surrey League)
10 Elinor Winter
1 Jo Tindley 6 points
2 Karla Boddy 9
3 Laura Massey 10
4 Molly Weaver 12
5 Siobhan McNamara 18
eq 6 Anna Christian, Elinor Winter 37
eq 8 Nicola Soden (Champion System/Maxgear), Gillian Taylor 39
eq 10 Stephanie Magri, Emma Craddock 40

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.