Road: Horner wins latest Thruxton event

Home » Road racing

Location: Thruxton Aerodrome, Andover, Hampshire
Event: 22 June 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

VC St Raphael rider Rowan Horner took victory in the latest round of the Platform Lift Company Summer Series staged at the Thruxton Aerodrome in Hampshire on Friday.

The 38-year-old from Andover edged out Portsmouth rival Phil Reynolds (Peter Hansford Cycles), whose second spot improved on the fifth place he secured in the previous week’s race.

Zappi’s CC veteran Andy McKay took victory in the supporting race for third and fourth category riders, the 41-year-old from Oxford crossing the line ahead of runner-up Richard Phillips-Schofield (Hantspol CC).

16-year-old Ellie Gilham (VC St Raphael) won the women’s race, while First chard Wheelers rider Rob Hogg was top under-16 rider.


1st Rowan Horner VC St Raphael
2nd Phil Reynolds Peter Hansford Cycles
3rd Mike Cripps Army CU
4th Gareth Dickinson Farnborough & Camberley CC
5th Tavis Walker Wilier/Live 2 Ride
6th Stuart Thompson Andover Wheelers
7th Alan Ridler Pedal Heaven RT
8th Conor Ryan Performance Cycles CMI
9th Harry Bulstrode Peter Hansford Cycles
10th Robert King AW Cycles
11th Daniel Duguid BCPM
12th Alex Peterson AW Cycles
13th Mitchell Webber Andover Wheelers
14th Ian Rees Wilier/Live 2 Ride
15th Max Holloway VC St Raphael

1st Andy McKay Zappi's Cycling Club
2nd Richard Phillips-Schofield Hantspol CC
3rd Barni Charlick CC Basingstoke
4th Mike Northover Cycle Studio RC
5th Karl Norfolk
6th Darren Chappell Behind The Bikeshed
7th Tom Hayward Andover Wheelers
8th Dave Hooper MJS Racing
9th Cameron Campbell Army CU
10th Malcolm Cross Hargroves Cycles

1st Ellie Gilham VC St Raphael
2nd Leanne Rogers 24/7
3rd Nikki Wheeler Team Wiggle
4th Lili McLean Andover Wheelers
5th Samantha Kelly RNRMCA

1st Rob Hogg 1st Chard Wheelers
2nd Cameron Thompson Andover Wheelers
3rd Jed Webber Andover Wheelers
4th Jack Bilyard Swindon RC
5th Harry Davidson Unattached
6th Emily Hall Andover Wheelers

Elliot Lassiter Unattached

Alex Hall Andover Wheelers

1st Arthur Boulton Palmer Park Velo
2nd Henry Williams Unattached

1st Oli Tyson-Bloor VC St Raphael
2nd Marshall Thompson Andover Wheelers
3rd Finnuda Horner VC St Raphael

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.