Strong field set for National Road Race Championships as start lists revealed

Home » Road racing


A number of Great Britain Olympic hopefuls are amongst a competitive line-up for the National Road Race Championships, taking place on Sunday June 24 in Ampleforth, York.

Whilst the start list is subject to change, road world champion Mark Cavendish fronts a strong Team Sky squad which also features Alex Dowsett, Christopher Froome, Jeremy Hunt, Peter Kennaugh, Luke Rowe, Ian Stannard, Ben Swift and Geraint Thomas for the UCI WorldTour team.

Thomas’ Olympic team pursuit gold medal colleague Ed Clancy is amongst the Rapha Condor Sharp team, as is Andy Tennant, all three part of the five-man entourage who won the team pursuit world championship in Melbourne in April.

In the women’s race, reigning champion Elizabeth Armitstead is one of the AA drink line-up which includes fellow Olympic road race hopefuls Sharon Laws, Lucy Martin and Emma Pooley. Beijing gold medallist and 10-time British road race champion Nicole Cooke is the sole representative of Team Faren-Honda and Katie Colclough, also hoping to earn one of the four Olympic places in the women’s road race, will be Team Specialized–lululemon's only rider.

You can view the full start lists below.

Men's start list
Women's start list