Road: Haworth wins latest Ford CC Series event

Home » Road racing

Location: Dunton Technical Centre, Essex
Event: 31 May 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Chelmer CC’s Matt Haworth clinched victory in the third round of the Ford CC Go Race Summer Series staged at Dunton Technical Centre in Essex.

46 riders made the start line for the event, despite a crane becoming lodged under a bridge causing major congestion on the local roads. The threatening rain never materialised, but the strong westerly wind made it difficult for anyone who dropped off the pack.

The first prime after five laps was taken by Wayne Tyson ( Ford CC), the second after seven laps by Tim Wood (Chelmer CC).

With the absence of series leader Dan Babbs, the bunch stayed together on the final lap and Matt Haworth (Chelmer CC) took the win from Stuart Thomas (5DCC) and Mick Bath (API).

The next race takes place on 14th June at 19:00, signing on from 18:00.


1 Matt Haworth Senior Chelmer CC 80

2 Stuart Thomas Veteran 5DCC 79

3 Mick Bath Veteran API 78

4 John Cordery Senior Basildon Timber 77

5 Colin King Senior Glendene CC 76

6 Colin McPherson Veteran 0 75

7 Mark Elms Senior Southend Wheelers 74

8 Rob Reynolds Veteran 0 73

9 John White Veteran 0 72

10 Rusell Whitford Senior Southend Wheelers 71

11 Lindsay Broadbridge Veteran Essex Roads CC 70

12 Paul Green Veteran Essex Roads CC 69

13 James Gander Junior Southend Wheelers 68

14 Bruce Gander Veteran Southend Wheelers 67

15 Martin Elms Veteran Southend Wheelers 66

16 James Badman Veteran Gateway CC 65

17 Kevin Attleed Senior Glendene CC 64

18 Gary Harmes Veteran 0 63

19 Brian Scarboro Veteran Gemini CC 62

20 Alan Cope Veteran Old Gits 61

21 Andy James Senior Essex Roads CC 60

22 Tim Savage Senior Maldon CC 59

23 James Skeggs Senior Glendene CC 58

24 Iain Kirkpatrick Veteran QFS 57

25 Peter Gottlieb Veteran Glendene CC 56

26 Darren De-Beger Veteran Glendene CC 55

27 Tim Wood Veteran Chelmer CC 54

28 Scott ??? Veteran Chelmer CC 53

29 Brian Farrow Veteran Maldon CC 52

30 Steve Tidiman Veteran Essex Roads CC 51

31 Daniel Jenkins Veteran 0 50

32 Gary Ward Veteran RJS 49

33 Mark Alsop Veteran Maldon CC 48

34 Colin Dilliway Senior 0 47

35 Stuart Clark Veteran Maldon CC 46

36 Graham Pearl Veteran Southend Wheelers 45

37 Richard Fraczec Veteran Essex Roads CC 44

38 John McMahon Veteran Essex Roads CC 43

39 Anthony McGurren Veteran Old Gits 42

40 Rob Young Junior Essex Roads CC 41

41 Wayne Tyson Senior Ford CC 40

42 Russell Trialey Veteran Chelmer CC 39

43 Richard Woodhouse Veteran Nene 38

44 David Ringrose Veteran Seeds Cycling 37

45 Peter Shanney Veteran 0 36

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.


Watch the team live
Membership discount for club members