Road: Bright Outcome To Cornish Series

Home » Road racing

Location: RAF Portreath, Redruth
Event: 5 May 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Third in the series opener, Adam Bright (Primal Europe) stepped up to take the honours in the second round of the Cornish Series on the exposed 1.3-mile cliff top airfield circuit at RAF Portreath, Redruth.

The 25-year-old winner, from Bideford, profited from the bad luck of team-mate Rob Wilcox, who was 40 seconds clear and heading for a solo victory when he punctured with three laps to go and lost his place at the head of the elite field.

Wilcox chased hard after a wheel change, but was unable to haul back the leading trio and had to settle for fourth place.


1 Adam Bright (Primal Europe)
2 Peter Vincent (Mid-Devon CC)
3 James Smith (Primal Europe)
4 Rob Wilcox (Primal Europe)
5 Jason Kettle (Mid Devon CC)
6 Darren Manser (One and All Cycling)
7 Mark Barlow (Newquay Velo)
8 Mark Mullen (Rutrainingtoday CC)
9 Theo Brumhead (Exeter University CC)
1 James Porter (Juice Lubes)
2 Steve Ferguson (Team Certini)
3 Gary James (Penzance Wheelers0
4 Daniel Lord (Clive Mitchell)
5 Oscar Hutchinson (Exeter University CC)
6 Ben Hoopell (Exeter Wheelers)
7 Martin Lenney (Penzance Wheelers0
8 Matt Loake (Southfork Racing)
9 William Hornby (Cycle Sport South Hams)
10 Adam Sluman (Plymouth Corinthian CC)
1 Chris Simcock (Newquay Velo)
2 Ian Lister (Wolverhampton Wheelers0
3 Matthew McArthur (Yogi)
4 Nick Hesling (Exeter Wheelers)
5 David Henderson (Mid Devon CC)
6 Andrew Mayer (Dales RT)
7 Mark Henderson (North Devon Wheelers)
8 Mark Sansby (Newquay Velo)
9 Peter Ryan (Newquay Velo)
10 Gus Gustenden (Royal Navy & Royal Marines CA)
1 Rhiannon Smallworth (Newquay Velo)
2 Sorrelle Le Cornu (Primal Europe)
3 Fiona Telfer-Brunton (One and All Cycling)
Youth A
1 Dean Henderson (North Devon CC)
Penny Polloff (One and All Cycling)
Youth B
1 Seb Dickens (Cycle Sport South Hams)
2 Charlie Meredith (Tor Velo)
3 Samuel Armstrong (Tor Velo)
Megan Hopgood (One and All Cycling)
Youth C
1 Alfie Peters (One and All Cycling)
2 Joseph Lister (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
3 Harry Meredith (Tor Velo)
Megan Wherry (One and All Cycling)
Youth D
1 Toby Peters (One and All Racing)
2 Oliver Brunnock (One and All Racing)
3 Lewis Moss (Tor Velo)
Abigail Wherry (One and All Cycling)
Youth E
1 Oliver Ross (Tor Velo)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.