Preview - Sheffrec Spring Road Race

Home » Road racing

The annual Sheffrec CC Spring Road Race takes place this Sunday (15 April) and plays host the 2nd round of the new Yorkshire Road Race League.

Newly crowned World scratch race champion Ben Swift, returns back home to Yorkshire after a gold medal ride in the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Melbourne last week. All eyes will be on the Sky Procycling rider to provide a strong challenge to local favourites such as Tom Barras, Metaltek – Scott (who placed third in round one), Tom Murray Team IG - Sigma Sport and Graham Briggs Team Raleigh - GAC. Sportscover Altura have a strong line up headed by local rider John Tanner.

New team on the block, RST Trigon, who are fresh from placing four riders in the top five, including a win by Tom Stewart at the Maureen Bain Memorial Road Race, will be one of the teams to watch. With league round one winner absent, several riders can take the lead in the league overall including Matt Sumpton of RST Trigon who finished second in round one – The Dirtwheels Spring Classic.

The 62 mile E123 race starts at 10.00am and will take place over 18 laps of Stainton circuit in South Yorkshire. Signing on opens at 8.45am.

Rider List:

No. Name Club / Team Cat
1 Ashley Marshall Aire Valley Racing Team 2nd
2 Hamish Graham ASFRA RT Flanders 3rd
3 Craig Anderson Black Hawk Bikes 3rd
4 William Haynes Blackhawk Bikes 2nd
5 Marcus Smith Blackhawk Bikes 2nd
6 Nathan Harrison Buxton CC/Sett Valley Cycles 2nd
7 Chris Coyle Castlebar CC 1st
8 Matthew Smithson Clay Cross Road Team 2nd
9 Lee Tunnicliffe Clay Cross Road Team 2nd
10 Gareth Whittall Clay Cross Road Team 2nd
11 Steve Thompson Clay Cross RT 3rd
12 Julian Gromett Cottingham Coureurs RT 2nd
13 Jordan Hargreaves Crosstrax 2nd
14 Richard Hepworth Cycle Premier - Kovert Elite
15 Ian Davenport Dinnington RC 3rd
16 Andy Robinson Dinnington RC 3rd
17 William Staveley Ferryhill Wheelers CC 3rd
18 James Thompson Hope Factory Racing 2nd
19 James Baillie Langsett Cycles 2nd
20 Jamie Burgan Langsett Cycles RT 1st
21 Mike Hutton Langsett Cycles RT 2nd
22 Danny Lowthorpe Langsett Cycles RT 2nd
23 Tom Barras Metaltek - Scott Elite
24 Stephen Ellis Out Of The Saddle 2nd
25 Sam Kirby Out Of The Saddle 3rd
26 Robert Watson Paul Milnes/Bradford Olympic RC 1st
27 Steve Gibson Peak RC 2nd
28 Tony Grassby Peak Road Club 3rd
29 Mike Rudling Private Member 2nd
30 Gunnar Gronlund RST Trigon RT 1st
31 Tom Stewart RST Trigon RT 2nd
32 Daniel Storey RST Trigon RT 1st
33 Matt Sumpton RST Trigon RT 1st
34 Lee Allen RVO Racing 3rd
35 Ben Last RVO Racing 2nd
36 Pete Middlehurst RVO Racing 3rd
37 Mick Rowson RVO Racing 3rd
38 Tim Rowson RVO Racing 2nd
39 Julian Ramsbottom Scunthorpe Polytechnic CC 3rd
40 James Allen Sheffrec CC 3rd
41 Mark Fidler Sheffrec CC 3rd
42 Ben Swift Sky Pro Cycling Elite
43 Ashley Brown Sportscover Altura RT 2nd
44 Adam Duggleby Sportscover Altura RT Elite
45 Rob Sharman Sportscover Altura RT 1st
46 John Tanner Sportscover Altura RT 1st
47 Mark Thwaites Sportscover Altura RT Elite
48 James Wagner Sportscover Altura RT 2nd
49 Christopher Daddy Squadra RT 1st
50 Richard Moore Squadra RT 2nd
51 Stephen Leigh Team Bglobal 2nd
52 Conan Mayman Team Bglobal Elite
53 Shane O'Neill Team Bglobal 1st
54 Paul Bennett Team Hope Factory Racing 3rd
55 Michael Knight Team Hope Factory Racing 3rd
56 Matthew Williams Team Hope Factory Racing 1st
57 Tom Murray Team IG - Sigma Sport Elite
58 Graham Briggs Team Raleigh - GAC Elite
59 Benjamin Kellett V S Cycles, Brighouse 2nd
60 Dillon Byrne Elite
59 Benjamin Kellett V.S Cycles Brighouse 2nd
60 Dillon Byrne Elite
61 Julian Pearson 1st
62 Alistair Rutherford Elite
63 Peter Barusevicus VC Bradford Pennine Cycles / Stella Azzura 2nd
64 Jack Rees Velo29-OTR-Vankru 1st
65 Paul Allen Wakefield CC 2nd
66 David Shackleton Wilsons Wheels Race Team 2nd
67 Nathan Wilson Wilsons Wheels Race Team 2nd
68 Martin Ruepp York Cycleworks 3rd
69 Ewan Sewell York Cycleworks 3rd
70 Philip Turton Yorkshire RC 3rd


71 Todd Hotchkiss Performance Cycles-CMI 1st
72 Thomas Timothy Velo 29 OTR Vankru 2nd
73 Christopher Mark Velo29-OTR-Vankru 2nd
74 Anthony Moye Velo29-OTR-Vankru 4th
75 Jody Warrington Tameside Cyclesports/ 2nd
76 Jonathan Shuster XRT - Elmy Cycles 2nd
77 Matthew Franklin Bristol RC 3rd
78 Carl Dyson Clay Cross Road Team 2nd
79 Neil Edwards Private Member 3rd
80 Jamie Harper Sheffrec CC 3rd