Road: Jake Martin wins final SERRL race

Home » Road racing

Location: Cyclopark, Gravesend, Kent
Event: 26 February 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Talented teenager Jake Martin secured a second victory of the day for Cycle Premier, winning the eighth and final round of the South East Road Race League Winter Series at the new Cyclopark in Gravesend, Kent, on Sunday.

Martin, the 19-year-old from Mitcham in Surrey, took victory alone, crossing the line 35 seconds ahead of a chasing duo to record Cycle Premier’s second win of the day following Richard Hepworth’s victory in the Clayton Velo Spring Classic in Lancashire.

PM Racing pair Billy-Joe Whenman and David Seager were in hot pursuit of Martin, but couldn’t catch him and crossed the line around 35 seconds behind, while the bunch were led home by Aprire Bicycles’ Malcolm Davies, more than a minute further back.

Team Toachim’s Stephen Swindley won the support race for third and fourth category riders, crossing the line ahead of Redhill CC’s Dan Mitchell while Harry Franklin (Hargroves Cycles) took third.



1 Jake Martin Cycle Premier

2 Billy-Joe Whenman PM Racing

3 David Seager PM Racing

4 Malcolm Davies Aprire Bicycles RT

5 Ashley Holding GB MS Tina

6 Matt Barlow Essex Roads CC

7 Tony Lock Edwards Elite Cycling

8 Harold Evans VO2 Development Squad

9 Taylor Johnstone Team De Ver

10 Jason Edwards GB MSTina

11 Keith Walker Wigmore CC

12 Paul Sewell Bigfoot CC

13 Anthony Buchan Team de Ver

14 Rhys Clegg PM Racing

15 Francis Cade V02 Development Squad

16 Jack Edwards PM Racing

17 Michael Barnes Ayra Flanders

18 Jason Nind Wigmore CC

19 Marco Coppola Gemini BC

3/4 Cat:

1 Stephen Swindley Team Toachim

2 Dan Mitchell Redhill CC

3 Harry Franklin Hargroves Cycles

4 Scott Webb PM Racing

5 Steven Smith Clay Cross RT

6 Harry Godding PM Racing

7 Kelvin Hatch San fairy Ann CC

8 Simon Lewington Dulwich Paragon CC

9 Tim Allen Bigfoot CC

10 Malcolm Jeffries VC Elan

11 Phil Dempsey Aprire Bicycles RT

12 Richard McVey Adalta

13 Gavin Wendon unattached

14 William Pratt Dulwich Paragon

15 Will Mangar Kent Cycles

16 Fabio Amati Aprire Bicycles RT

17 Nick Malins 4T+

18 Ben Porter Dulwich Paragon

19 Charles Westerby Dulwich Paragon

20 Daniel Sims San Fairy Ann CC

21 Jack Finch PM Racing

22 Alex Fairman San Fairy Ann CC

23 Andrew Colvin Bigfoot CC

24 Ben Scruton San Fairy Ann CC

25 Simon Collins Dulwich Paragon

26 Robbie Hayton Bigfoot CC

27 Mark McCullagh Dulwich Paragon

28 Len Delicaet London Pheonix

29 Andrew Macey Ashford Wheelers

30 Shaun Williams San Fairy Ann CC

31 Charles Batho Dulwich Paragon CC

32 David Flanagan San Fairy Ann CC

33 Mark Stephens Banjo Cycles

34 Liam Yates In Gear RT

35 Justin Charlesworth San Fairy Ann CC

36 James Falshaw private

37 Ian Neild San Fairy Ann CC

38 Richard Jones San Fairy Ann CC

39 Martin Ford San Fairy Ann CC

40 Reiner Singh San Fairy Ann

41 Phil Hoffman San Fairy Ann CC

42 Ian Creasy Wigmore CC

43 Rory Hopcraft San Fairy Ann CC

44 Matthew Waters San Fairy Ann CC

45 Philip Harris San Fairy Ann CC

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.