Road: James Wilson wins Ludgershall Series R3

Home » Road racing

Location: Ludgershall, Wiltshire
Event: 28 January 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

Supernova Cycles rider James Wilson sprinted to victory at the end of the E12 race at the third round of the Ludgershall Winter Series in Wiltshire on Saturday.

Wilson, 29 and from Newbury where Supernova Cycles are based, pipped breakaway rival David Creeggan (Pedal Heaven RT) by a couple of bike lengths in the sprint for the line, while the bunch came home 24 seconds later after failing to reel in the escapees.

Wilson had tried to escape with team-mate Matt Connor earlier in the race but was pulled back. However, on the fifth lap he successfully managed to break free with Creeggan, 39 and from Ash in Hampshire.

The pair worked well together and held their lead at 20-30 seconds for the remainder of the race, which was run off in cold but calm conditions but on a track which was slightly damp and slippery in places.

“I’m not bad at sprinting and I was reasonably confident going into the finish,” said 1st cat rider Wilson afterwards. “David started the sprint before me, but I was on him quickly and I came round him with about 50 metres to go.

“I’m really pleased to get the win for my sponsor, Christian Thompson of Supernova Cycles, and hopefully we can build on this throughout the season. We’re a new team with four riders at the moment – me and Matt Connor, David Billings and James Wilding.

“I’m mainly going to be targeting National B races, so I’ll be doing the Perfs and the Severn Bridge Road Race next month and take it from there.”

Fourth in round one, Wilson missed the break in round two of the Ludgershall Series but managed to take second in the bunch sprint and was seventh overall.

3/4 Category Race

The supporting race for 3/4 category riders was won by Chippenham and District Wheelers’ Simon Barnes, who won a tight sprint finish after an eventful final circuit.

A crash just outside the top ten on the last lap saw eight riders hit the deck, and held up most of the bunch with only 15 managing to avoid the melee and go on to contest the finish.

Poole Wheelers’ 17-year-old Jordan Wade led out the sprint and looked to have victory in the bag, but 41-year-old Corsham-based rider Barnes just thrust his wheel ahead on the line to win by just a couple of inches.

Truro’s Chris Mattocks (Army Cycling Union) took third spot, the 20-year-old just holding off Craig Wallduck (Univ of Bristol CC) for the final podium place.

Apart from a few cuts and bruises, there were no serious injuries in the crash.



1 James Wilson 54:21

2 David Creeggan Pedal Heaven RT @ same time

3 Patrick Martin Wyndamilla / UK Youth @ 24sec

4 Brian Macpherson BC PM

5 Simon Snowdon Cadence Cannondale RT

6 John Russell Strada Cycles

7 Paul Derrick Strada Cycles

8 Mark Ottaway Wyndamilla / UK Youth

9 Jamie Streather VC St Raphael / Waite Contracts / Hewitts Cycles

10 Jason Streather VC St Raphael / Waite Contracts / Hewitts Cycles

11 Phill Reynolds Peter Hansford Racing

12 Lee Mead Wyndamilla / UK Youth

13 David Young Fareham Wheelers Cycling Club

14 Matthew Conner

15 Stuart Thompson Andover Wheelers

16 Daniel Stephens Sotonia CC

17 Michael Scott Peter Hansford Racing

18 Philip Adkins Strada Cycles

19 Simon Brooks VC St Raphael / Waite Contracts / Hewitts Cycles


1 Simon Barnes Chippenham Wheelers 55:48

2 Jordan Wade Poole Wheelers

3 Chris Mattocks Army Cycling Union

4 Craig Wallduck University of Bristol CC

5 Aaron Tayler Swindon RC

6 Carsten Duke Army Cycling Union

7 Peter Medhurst University of Exeter Cycling Club

8 Simon Martin Bath CC

9 Michael Ward VC Montpellier

10 Jason Painton Rides On Air

11 Shaun Green Army Cycling Union

12 Chris Hutchings BC PM - South

13 Adam Morris Army Cycling Union

14 Kieran Holdstock Worcester St Johns

15 Alan Starsmeare East Grinstead CC

16 Terence Smith Andover Wheelers

17 Paul Coles Chippenham Wheelers

18 Andy Keynes VC Meudon

19 Christopher Fletcher Team Axiom

20 James Chant Gillingham and District Wheelers

21 Gary Hill BC PM

22 David Hooper MJS Racing

23 Steve Cottington Cadence RT

24 Colin Summerfield VC Meudon

25 Tim Jay Somer Valley CC

26 Simon Parton Kingston Wheelers

27 Philip Adkins Strada Cycles

28 Nigel Pratt Andover Wheelers

29 Gregg James Andover wheelers

30 Michael Young Cadence RT

31 David Stoyle Bath CC

32 Gerald McDermott Gannett CC

33 Nigel Brown Gillingham and District Wheelers

34 Neil MacKinnon Gillingham and District Wheelers

35 Nicholas Cooper Andover Wheelers

Women: Hannah Drewett (unattached).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.