Road: Greenhalgh Wins CDNW League

Home » Road racing

Location: Bickerstaff, Lancashire
Event: 27 August 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

A strong performance in the final points-scoring round of the CDNW Road Race League was enough to give Wayne Greenhalgh (Maxgear RT) the overall series win on Saturday.

The Maxgear Racing Team rider was second heading into round 16, but he won every prime as well as the sprint for the line which gave him enough points to take the overall win.

The 40-year-old from Wigan edged ahead of his rivals to take the win at the end of a rain-soaked race, which saw few breakaways attempted. None lasted for more than two or three miles before the torrential rain sapped their strength.

As they headed for the line at the end of 13 and three-quarter laps, Greenhalgh had just enough strength left to hold off Bill Nickson RT duo James Warren and David Crowley who had to settle for second and third overall.


1 Wayne Greenhalgh (Maxgear RT) 1:46:00
2 James Warren (Bill Nickson RT)
3 David Crowley (Bill Nickson RT)
4 John Dodgin (Biketreks RT)
5 Jason Livesey (Aire Valley RT)
6 Nicholas Bertrand (Biketreks RT)
7 Simon Deeley (Southport CC)
8 Eldon Garnett (Team Wallis CHH)
9 Andrew McCleod (Lancashrie RC)
10 Philip Knupfer (Manchester Wheelers) all @ same time

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.