Road: Udall Wins at Darley Moor

Home » Road racing

Darley Moor Circuit, Ashbourne, Derbyshire, 55km
Promoted by: Ashfield Road Club
Event: 30th July 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

SPRINTING to a comfortable victory, Andy Udall (Mammoth Lifestyle RT) won the sixth Darley Moor Circuit Series event at the venue near Ashbourne in Derbyshire on Saturday.

The 24-year-old from Stafford led all the way in the eight-rider sprint finish to the E/1/2/3 race, which was run off in fabulous conditions.

With around ten of the 22 laps covered, four riders broke away from the bunch, and they were joined by another four riders with three laps left, forming the race-winning move.

Udall won with ease, while Derby Mercury's Lee Ward held off David Saunders (Climb On Bikes) for second.

And in the supporting 3/4 category race, it was Christian Aucote, the 30-year-old Mercian CC rider, who won ahead of Yorkshire Velo's Nathan Harrison.


1 Andy Udall (Mammoth Lifestyle) 1:15:00
2 Lee Ward (Derby Mercury RC)
3 David Saunders (Climb On Bikes)
4 John Cooper (Manchester University)
5 Michael Dales (Velo 29)
6 Neil Beasley (Beeston RC)
7 Ben Case (Sportscover)
8 Ian Cooper (Planet X) all @ same time
9 Richard Prince (Planet X) @ 20sec
10 Tim Rowson (RVO Racing) @ same time

1 Christian Aucote (Mercian CC) 1:20:00
2 Nathan Harrison (Yorkshire Velo)
3 Simon Hayes (Wills Wheels)
4 Matt Crouch (Derby Mercury CC) all @ same time
5 Phil Giles (RVO Racing) @ 30sec
6 Mark Flay (Kenilworth Wheelers)
7 Tom Sutton (Sheffield Phoenix)
8 Rob Carr (unattached)
9 Richard Knott (Mercian CC)
10 Taylor McKenzie (RST Racing) all @ same time