Road: Finn Wins CDNW at Lazonby

Home » Road racing
Bookmark    and Share
Follow on

Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Finn Wins CDNW Race at Lazonby

Lazonby, Cumbria, 75 miles
Promoted by: Cycling Development North West
Event: 26th June 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

CYCLE Premier-Metaltek's Ashley Finn took victory in the latest Cycling Development North West League race at Lazonby in Cumbria on Sunday, the tenth round of the popular series.

The 21-year-old from Lancaster just held off breakaway rival Samuel Jackson (Herbalife-Wheelbase) by seven seconds on the line, while the chasing group were a further minute off the pace.

Finn was part of an earlier, unsuccessful four-man break which went clear on the second of seven laps on an 11-mile circuit.

Within a matter of minutes after they were reeled in, Finn was off again, attacking on a climb at the back of the circuit with Jackson, and quickly establishing a lead of around 40 seconds within a couple of miles.

Their lead fluctuated between 30 seconds and a minute, and even when a chasing group of four came after them they couldn't be caught.

And in the run-in to the finish, Finn proved better suited to the tough uphill finish, holding off Jackson, while Alistair Rutherford (Science in led in the chasers at 1:05 for third spot.

And in the supporting race for 3/4 cat riders, John Didgin (Biketreks Racing Team) won by 28 seconds from Honister 92 rival Garth McColville.

E/1/2/3 (123km):
1 Ashley Finn (Cycle Premier-Metaltek) 3:00:03
2 Samuel Jackson (Herbalife) @ 7sec
3 Alistair Rutherford (Science in @ 1:05
4 Harry Grey (Vanilla
5 Craig Battersby (Team Bglobal) all @ same time
6 Richard Hepworth (Cycle Premier) @ 2:37
7 Lee Baldwin (Buxton CC)
8 Chris Sherriffs (Team Bglobal)
9 Simon Wilson (Cycle Premier)
10 Ben Dean (Clayton Velo) all @ same time

3/4 (51 miles):
1 John Dodgin (Biketreks Racing Team) 2:12:13
2 Garth McColville (Honister 92) @ 28sec
3 Greg Tognarelli (VC Cumbria) @ 35sec
4 Andrew Cox (Bicycleworks)
5 Dave McCallum (Bicycleworks)
6 Lee Carter (Ribble Valley CRC)
7 Wayne Greenhalgh (Maxgear RT)
8 Thomas Walsh (Lancashire RC)
9 John Findley (Bill Nickson Cycles)
10 Andy Gott (West Pennine RT) all @ same time