Lloyd Coward Memorial RR

Home » Road racing

Portland Port & Lloyd Coward Memorial RR

Please take time out to back our "Keep Racing on the Roads" campaign to save Road racing by becoming a fan of our dedicated facebook page

Sunday 6th June, Wessex Cycle Racing League; by Graham Robins

This race was in the Dorset country side around the village of Wool and promoted by CC Weymouth. A ten mile undulating course, with a very long straight and very little climbing was well suited to the 3rd and 4th category riders. The course was dry as the promised rain hadn’t appeared, so the race got underway under clear blue skies as 54 riders rolled away from the HQ.

There was a short neutralised section which led the riders onto the course for a total of four and half laps and a distance of 74 kilometres. Soon after the start, two riders managed to get away; Will Stevens (Bournemouth Arrow CC) and Rupert Silman (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers). They got away from the bunch but they couldn’t hold on for too long and were soon picked up by the bunch.

After the bunch crossed the finish line, it was Graham Wyatt (Velocity Cycles) and Chris Halls (Team Tor 2000) who were working well together and managed to get away. They stayed away for a further lap and half until Jason Duckworth (Team Tor 2000) managed to get across but all this succeeded in doing was slowing the other two down. This tactic allowed the bunch to close them down and a tiring Wyatt was collected by the chasing group, only to be replaced by George Gori (Tor 2000).

With Fareham Wheelers riders throughout the bunch, it was no surprise that they managed to guide Phil Reynolds to the front so when George Gori attacked they managed to deploy “blocking tactics” to help their man. With a lap to go it was Gori, Reynolds and Pete Bolke (DHCyclesport) at the head of the race with a gap of about 20 secs with Simon Knowlton (Sotonia) driving the bunch through the finish line.

On the last lap, the three riders managed to maintain their lead and with Fareham Wheelers in control, the win was coming from one of these. As the leaders approached the finish line it was George Gori who had the legs to outsprint Reynolds with Bolke finishing a strong third. The bunch was brought home by Jason Duckworth (Team Tor 2000) just ahead of Sean Conway (Bournemouth Arrow CC).

Provisional Result

1. George Gori Team Tor 2000
2. Phil Reynolds Fareham Wheelers
3. Peter Bolke DHCyclesport
4. Jason Duckworth Team Tor 2000
5. Sean Conway Bournemouth Arrow CC