Millar Takes Vuelta Stage

Millar Takes Vuelta Stage

Home » Road racing

Millar Wins in Spain

Saturday 19 Sept 2009

David Millar - still a class act against the clock. Pictured here in the national Road championships (image Andy Whitehouse)

David Millar's always had the knack of winning stages of the big tours, though it's an ability many thought had left him. However, the 20th stage of the Vuelta a Espana saw the now near-veteran Brit winning in his favourite environment - the mid-length time trial - taking the 26km course on and recording a time of 35 minutes, 53 seconds, just five seconds clear of overall second placed Samual Sanchez and a further four seconds of Aussie Cadel Evans. Overall, the Spaniard Alejandro Valverde continues to lead by a fairly comfortable 55 seconds from Sanchez.

Stage 20: September 19, Toledo 26km

1 David Millar (GBr) Garmin-Slipstream 0:35:53
2 Samuel Sánchez (Spa) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:00:05
3 Cadel Evans (Aus) Silence-Lotto 0:00:09
4 Gustavo César Veloso (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia 0:00:20
5 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Liquigas 0:00:30
6 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Silence-Lotto 0:00:34
7 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne 0:00:36
8 David Herrero (Spa) Xacobeo Galicia 0:00:37
9 Jesús Del Nero (Spa) Fuji-Servetto 0:00:40
10 Lieuwe Westra (Ned) Vacansoleil 0:00:43