Scott and Jeffers power to race wins and National Circuit Series titles in Newark

Scott and Jeffers power to race wins and National Circuit Series titles in Newark

Home » Road racing

Emma Jeffers and Jake Scott underline their National Circuit Series titles with convincing victories in a testing finale.

Women's Race

A warm summer’s evening greeted the riders in Newark as they prepared for the finale of the British Cycling National Circuit Series.

The series leader and prolific winner Emma Jeffers (JRC-Interflon) was ready to defend her title from second-place rider Jo Tindley (Pro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes presented by Heidi Kjeldsen) who was only one point behind in the overall standings.

Current national champion, Josie Nelson (Team Coop-Hitec Products) was also on the start line, and Alex Morrice of Team LDN – Brother UK was in good form after her second place in the Lancaster Grand Prix.

The flag dropped and Charlotte Berry and Gabriella Shaw of Spectra Wiggle p/b Vitus were the first to pile the pressure on, with Tindley and Nelson glued to their wheels.

The bunch quickly lined out on the technical circuit, and pressure from Pro-Noctis caused the bunch to stretch.

A crash in the middle of the bunch at the halfway point saw 16 riders left at the front of the race. Pro-Noctis had the numerical advantage in the front group, but Nelson was attacking hard to whittle the group down even further.

emma jeffers, national circuit series

Nelson and Jeffers continued to attack, and there were notable accelerations from Beth Morrow (CAMS-Basso), Morrice, and Lucy Ellmore (Pro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes p/b Heidi Kjeldsen). However, nothing could break the front group and it looked like a sprint was the only way to decide the race.

Coming into the final lap, Ellmore set a blistering pace for Pro-Noctis in an effort to set up Tindley for the win, but as the bunch entered the final corners, Jeffers and Nelson kicked.

Rounding the penultimate corner, Jeffers had the lead. On the limit of her tyres’ grip, she was untouchable in the final few meters. Nelson comfortably took second Jo Tindley dug deep to hold onto third place.

The win also means that Jeffers secured the overall competition win in the National Circuit Series. Pro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes p/b Heidi Kjeldsen capped a run of consistent results by taking the team competition.

Men's Race

The men’s race started as we have become accustomed to over the National Circuit Series with WiV SunGod dominating early on.

Starting on the front row, the team attacked from the gun, with Jake Scott leading the bunch in the early laps. As the leader in the overall standings, it seemed that his intention was to race from the front.

wiv sungod, national circuit series

It didn’t take long for the pressure from WiV SunGod to pull the race apart, with Jim Brown and Rob Scott putting in long efforts to get away from the bunch. However, Conor McGoldrick (Richardsons Trek DAS) and William Smith (Zappi Junior Race Team) took advantage of the slight rise in the back straight to muscle in on the WiV SunGod train and show their strength.

At the halfway mark, Jake Scott put in a powerful acceleration to finally break free of the group, but McGoldrick was wise to the danger and he fought back to Jake Scott’s wheel. Rob Scott also came across a lap later, to make it three up the road.

The two WiV SunGod riders worked with McGoldrick to build up a lead of 10 seconds. The WiV SunGod pairing traded attacks, hoping to rid themselves of McGoldrick, but the Richardsons Trek DAS rider wouldn’t give in, and he even tried to break clear with 10 laps to go but nothing could separate the three men.

On the final lap, Rob Scott attacked along the back straight with Jake Scott on his wheel. McGoldrick couldn’t quite match the acceleration and the best he could manage was to hold onto the wheels of the flying WiV SunGod duo.

Jake Scott came around his teammate to take a dominant win, with Rob Scott holding onto second. Conor McGoldrick rounded out the podium with a well-deserved third place.

The win means that Jake Scott wraps up the National Circuit Series overall title and WiV SunGod take the top spot in the team competition.

national circuit series, jake scott

Women’s podium

  1. Emma Jeffers (JRC-INTERFLON Race Team)
  2. Josie Nelson (Team Coop-Hitec Products)
  3. Jo Tindley (Pro-Noctis – Rotor – Redchilli Bikes by Heidi Kjeldsen)

Men’s podium

  1. Jacob Scott (WiV SunGod)
  2. Rob Scott (WiV SunGod)
  3. Conor McGoldrick (Richardsons Trek DAS)