British Cycling Zwift eRacing Championships - Race Information

British Cycling Zwift eRacing Championships - Race Information

Home » Road racing » British Cycling eRacing Championships

Race Information - British Cycling Zwift eRacing Championships

The format

Race one - Elimination Race

This pulsating race is one for those who like their races short, sweet and full of tactics over five laps, plus a lead in. Just as the name suggests, but with a slightly more brutal twist, the last two riders to cross the finish line every lap of the 2.8km  are eliminated, before a head-to-head battle between the final two racers determines the victor and winner of the full 10 points on offer. Each pairing will battle it out for a reward of 10 or nine points (eliminated last), eight or seven points (eliminated fourth), six or five points (eliminated third), four or three points (eliminated second), two points or one point (eliminated first).

Race two – HSBC UK Points Race

Riders will tackle three laps, plus a lead in, of the 4.1km Volcano Circuit CCW for this bunch race. And, as the race name suggests, it is all about points. Each time the riders cross the sprint line (after the lead in), the first four will be awarded five, three, two and one points respectively. Those points are crucially doubled for the all-important final lap. Quick maths is needed to determine the winner of this one – whoever accumulates the most points is victorious. 

Race three - Wahoo Scratch Race

The first to cross the finish line in Zwift’s Watopia Hilly Route takes the win in the Wahoo Scratch Race. Sounds simple in theory, but there is much more to this race than that. Riders will complete two laps of the 9.1km route, with tactics put into play from the outset – some may attempt to breakaway early while others will work hard to prevent stronger riders from escaping, to force a bunch sprint at the end.

Eric Min, Zwift CEO and Co-Founder, added: "We're just at the very beginning of forming a new discipline of cycling and I can't wait to see these 20 athletes go head to head in the live finals of the British Cycling eRacing Championships.

"British Cycling has a reputation of being at the forefront of innovation and we've already seen their members embrace the opportunity in the qualifying rounds. This will be a great spectacle, and I'm delighted that audiences at home will be able to watch the action live on BT Sport."

The schedule (may be subject to change)

1:55pm – 5:30pm – live streamed on British Cycling’s Facebook page and website

Elimination Race

2pm – 2:30pm – women

3pm – 3:30pm – men

HSBC UK Points Race

4pm – 4:30pm – women

5pm – 5:30pm – men

8pm – 10pm – broadcast live on BT Sport 1 and livestreamed on British Cycling’s Facebook page and website 

Wahoo Scratch Race

8:15pm – 8:45 pm – women

8:50 – women’s medal ceremony

9:15pm – 9:45pm – men

9:50pm – men’s medal ceremony

Terms & Conditions:
- All UK Zwifters are welcome to join the British Cycling eRacing Championships Qualifier but in order to qualify for the British Cycling eRacing Championships final participants must abide by the following rules:
- All participants must be a member of British Cycling and as such are bound by the terms and conditions and the regulations of British Cycling including, but without limitation, the Code of Conduct, Anti Doping-Policy and any other relevant policy.
- The top 10 men and top 10 women will be requested to show their valid British Cycling membership to qualify for the British Cycling eRacing Championships Final


Watch the team live
Membership discount for club members