eRacing Championships
Great Britain Cycling Team named for the Tour de Yorkshire

Great Britain Cycling Team named for the Tour de Yorkshire

Home » Road racing

British Cycling has named the thirteen riders who will compete for the Great Britain Cycling Team in the Tour de Yorkshire from 3 – 6 May.

Rotherham-born rider Ben Swift will be back in Great Britain colours, following the UAE Team Emirates rider’s fifth place finish in the 2017 UCI Road World Championships road race in Bergen. Gabriel Cullaigh joins the team fresh from his victory in last month’s CiCLE Classic, along with fellow Team Wiggins riders Joey Walker and Otley’s Tom Pidcock – who sprinted to victory in yesterday’s East Cleveland Klondike.

Lotto-Soudal rider James Shaw will also be in action, while Senior Academy riders Fred Wright and Jake Stewart complete the lineup.

Following her bronze medal in last month’s Commonwealth Games road race Dani Rowe will represent the women’s team, alongside fellow Commonwealth Games riders Ellie Dickinson and Megan Barker. They will be joined by Senior Academy riders Abigail Dentus and Rhona Callander, and Senior Squad mountain bike rider Emily Wadsworth.

Great Britain Cycling Team performance director, Stephen Park, said:

“We’re delighted to welcome seasoned world tour rider Ben Swift and Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Dani Rowe back into the squad, and we’re sure that their experience will be of real benefit to our younger riders.

“The Tour de Yorkshire provides a rare and invaluable opportunity for our developing riders to compete against some of the best in the world, in front of a home crowd, and we hope that they will grasp the opportunity with both hands.”

Men’s team:

Ben Swift
Fred Wright
Gabriel Cullaigh
Jake Stewart
James Shaw
Joey Walker
Tom Pidcock

Women’s team:

Abigail Dentus
Dani Rowe
Eleanor Dickinson
Emily Wadsworth
Megan Barker
Rhona Callander

Membership discount for club members