eRacing Championships
William Turner wins second stage of Junior Tour of Wales

William Turner wins second stage of Junior Tour of Wales

Home » Road racing

William Turner of Wheelbase Cabtech Junior RT pipped Lewis Winfield to the finish line on day two of the 2017 Junior Tour of Wales after a late break in an action-packed second stage.

Yellow jersey holder Tom Pidcock, of PH-MAS/Paul Milnes/Oldfield RT finished ten seconds behind the pair as the peloton failed to haul them in and create a bunch sprint.

Michael Parry of and Mason Hollyman of Bike Box Alan were just eight seconds behind Turner with Pidcock fifth and Jake Stewart a second further back.

The riders set out from Abergavenny and up to the first King of the Mountains point at Bwlch led by a breakaway trio of last year’s winner Fred Wright of VC Londres and Dillon Crokery of NRPT-Titan Containers with Wright’s team mate Tom Knight.

After the first climb the trio were absorbed and the race was all together until Harrison Wood of Mid Devon CC broke clear with Tim Shoreman, Stephen Dent and Ben Barlow.

Dent managed to grab the first sprint at Llanhamlach.

After being pulled back in by the peloton, it was the turn of Anthony Anderson of, Joe Hill of Sussex Revolution VC, Jack Brown of Yorkshire and John Buller of Cycling Ulster to ease away to contest the second sprint at Aberbran Fawr which Buller took.

Brown and Hill then reformed with Harry Hardcastle of Wheelbase Cabtech and Dylan Hughes of Spokes Racing team for the loop at Defynnog and it was Hardcastle who took maximum points in the King of the Mountains competition on the climb at Defynnog.

Second time through Aberbran Fawr saw Buller take maximum points ahead of Brown, Hughes and Hardcastle.

Wright took four King of the Mountain points at Crai before Hardcastle took the final climb of the day at Coelbren with Wright's second place set to keep him in the polka dot jersey until the final stage on Monday.

Rhys Britton took the final sprint of the afternoon.

After the breakaway was absorbed again, Alex Ridehalgh of Yorkshire broke away for what was the longest – if not most decisive - break of the day.

He was almost 30 seconds up at one point but as the race neared the final climb he was swept up again and it was Winfield of VC Londres and Turner who took the initiative.

They opened the gap to just over a minute and with a kilometre to go it was clear that the charging peloton – driven on by yellow jersey Pidcock – was going to run out of time.

Turner took the win by inches from Winfield for what he claimed was the best win of his young career to date.

“I am really happy with this result and never expected this to happen, this is so far my biggest win to date, but hopefully many more to come in the future,” said Turner.

“The race was really sketchy at the start while it was neutralised. As soon as the flag dropped attacks kept going and it was really grippy from the start till the end,” said Turner.

“A team mate was away so I didn't have to work to chase him down, which left me with fresh legs at the end and managed to get away with Lewis.

“I seized the opportunity when there was a lull in the pace with around 10km to go up the dual carriageway and worked with Lewis to establish a decent gap of 1 minute 30 seconds at one point.

“I rolled over the top of the climb and saw the 200m sign and thought I had to go now if I wanted to win."

Pidcock's efforts to haul in the breakaway was enough to see him hang onto the yellow jersey going into Sunday's sprint stages while Ben Healey leads the Young Riders competition.

Stage Result

1 William Orrell-Turner Wheelbase Cabtech Junior RT 2:48:05
2 Lewis Winfield VC Londres same time
3 Michael Parry Verulam - - 8 seconds
4 Mason Hollyman Bike Box Alan FJ2 same time
5 Thomas Pidcock PH-MAS/Paul Milnes/Oldfield ERT - 10 secs
6 Jake Stewart Swinnerton Cycles - 11
7 Mark Donovan Beste Alde La Tostadora/S.C.Duranguasa - same time
8 Oscar Mingay Wales - ST
9 Jacques Sauvagnargues Zappi Racing Team - ST
10 Finn Crockett Spokes Racing Team - ST

General Classification

1 Thomas Pidcock PH-MAS/Paul Milnes/Oldfield ERT 3:01:15
2 Fred Wright VC Londres @ 20 seconds
3 George Kimber Cycle Sport Dynamo @ 30
4 Mark Donovan Beste Alde La Tostadora/S.C.Duranguas @ 41
5 Ben Healy Zappi Racing Team @ 42

King of the Mountains after Stage 2

1 Fred Wright VC Londres 17
3 Ben Healy Zappi Racing Team 7
4 Thomas Pidcock PH-MAS/Paul Milnes/Oldfield ERT 7

Sprints competition after Stage 2

1 John Buller Cycling Ulster 8
2 Anthony Anderson Sigma 5
3 Joe Hill Sussex Revolution Velo Club 5
4 Rhys Britton Wales 4
5 Stephen Dent Scotland 4

Young Rider after Stage 2

1 Ben Healy Zappi Racing Team 3:01:57
2 Theo Modell Team Corley Cycles @ 7 seconds
3 Harrison Wood Mid Devon CC @ 8
4 William Draper HMT with JLT Condor same time
5 Joseph Laverick East Midlands Region @ 10 seconds

Teams Classification after Stage 2

1 Zappi Racing Team 9:06:10
2 VC Londres @ 8 seconds
3 East Midlands Region @ 1:32
4 Equiom IOM Junior Cycling Team @ 3:16
5 Bike Box Alan @ 3:31
6 Cycling Ulster @ 3:49


Junior Tour of Wales 2017 Day 2

Membership discount for club members