eRacing Championships
Race guide: Great Britain Cycling Team at the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships

Race guide: Great Britain Cycling Team at the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships

Home » Road racing

Rainbow jerseys are up for grabs as the world’s best para-cyclists head to South Africa for the 2017 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships.

Pietermaritzburg plays host to the championships with nine riders set to represent the Great Britain Cycling Team.

The team

Pietermaritzburg has been a happy hunting ground for the Great Britain Cycling Team in recent years.

Great Britain Cycling Team's Lora Fachie and Corrine Hall

Corrine Hall and Lora Fachie struck double gold in South Africa in the 2015 UCI Para-cycling Road World Cup - dominating in both the time trial and the road race.

The pair won world titles on the road in 2013 and 2014 and head to the capital city of the KwaZulu-Natal province in fine form following a silver medal in this season’s world cup in the time trial in Emmen, Netherlands.

Another British duo looking to repeat previous South African success is Steve Bate and Adam Duggleby.

The 2016 Paralympic time trial champions won their first gold medal at world cup level in Pietermaritzburg two years ago and followed that up with bronze in the road race.

Bate and Duggleby have already won three world cup medals this season, taking gold in the time trial in Maniago, Italy before winning double bronze in Emmen - and the pair will look to win their first-ever world championships medal in South Africa.

Two British riders will be looking to get back on the road world championships podium for the first time since 2011.

Simon Price and Crystal Lane-Wright both won road race bronze medals in Roskilde, Denmark six years ago and the duo will be confident of securing strong results in South Africa.

Great Britain Cycling Team's Simon Price

Price has two world cup medals to his name already in 2017, taking road race gold and time trial bronze in Emmen while Lane-Wright, Paralympic road race bronze medallist, earned silver in the time trial in the world cup round in Maniago.

Three British riders will make their world championships debut in Pietermaritzburg and will be looking to build on strong performances from this year’s world cup.

Craig Collis-McCann followed up road race silver in the world cup in Maniago with gold in Ostend in May and is seen as a serious medal contender in South Africa.

Will Bjergfelt also reached a world cup podium in his debut season in Great Britain Cycling Team colours, with the Podium Potential rider winning bronze in the road race in Emmen.

Ben Watson will make his first appearance for the Great Britain Cycling Team in Pietermaritzburg after riding as an independent athlete in this season’s world cup.

Watson won a bronze medal in Emmen in the time trial earlier this season and will now make his debut for his country in South Africa.

Great Britain Cycling Team for the UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships

Great Britain Cycling Team squad for the 2017 UCI Para-cycling Road World Championships

Steve Bate, piloted by Adam Duggleby (B)

Will Bjergfelt (C5)

Craig Collis-McCann (T2)

Lora Fachie, piloted by Corrine Hall (B)

Crystal Lane-Wright (C5)

Simon Price (C2)

Ben Watson (C3)

The venue

Pietermaritzburg is the capital of the KwaZulu-Natal province and is in the south-east of South Africa, around 80km from Durban.

Often referred to by locals as PMB, Pietermaritzburg has a population of around 500,000 and is known for its production of aluminium, timber and dairy products and is the birthplace of former England cricketer Kevin Pietersen.

The courses

The time trials will take place close to Midmar Dam, 24km from the centre of Pietermaritzburg - a location popular for swimming, waterskiing and fishing.

Each lap of the course starts with a technical descent before a tricky climb just after the halfway mark - with a further climb to come at the finish of the lap.

Each lap is 7.75km long, with race distances varying between two, three and four laps, subject to classification.

The road races take place in Pelham, just outside the centre of Pietermaritzburg. Each lap is 6.07km, with riders facing between four and 18 laps subject to classification.

The course begins with a steady climb over the opening 2.5km of the lap, with a steep climb at a gradient of 11.1% just before the halfway mark, before a predominantly downhill section for the remainder of each lap.

The schedule (UK times)

Thursday 31 August

8am-10.15am - Men’s T2 time trial

Friday 1 September

8am-10.15am - Men’s C2, men’s C3 and women’s C5 time trials
12pm-3.15pm - Men’s C5, men’s B and women’s B time trials

Saturday 2 September

12.30pm-1.45pm - Men’s T1-2 road race

Sunday 3 September

7am-9am - Men’s C1-3 and women’s C4-5 road races
9.30am-11.45am - Men’s C4-5 road race
12.45pm-3.15pm - Men’s B and women’s B road races

How to follow

Membership discount for club members